Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-24-2013, 05:50 PM   #16
Member
 
raylo32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maryland (DC 'burbs)
Posts: 1,047
Rewards Points: 506
Default

Having AC installed in a forced hot air only home


4t sounds big for that size dwelling but you should definitely do some sort of heat gain calc. One thing about getting a possibly oversize unit like that would be the ducts... if they are sized for a smaller unit (what size furnace do you have?) the blower that would be needed for a 4t a/c (~1600cfm) could be very noisy and create high static pressure.

__________________
Live long and prosper.
raylo32 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 07:14 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,284
Rewards Points: 566
Default

Having AC installed in a forced hot air only home


I put in a Ducane heat pump,1.5 ton /10 k.w. electric heat. 410 -a seer13. Freezes us.out all summer.
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 07:24 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,436
Rewards Points: 2,186
Default

Having AC installed in a forced hot air only home


we have installed,,amana,tempstar, heil,goodman, concord,armstrong air, bryant, trane, lennox,york,luxair,to name a few....over the yrs thay all have performed well for their cost and intended purpose...some maybe alittle better than the other.... but install has everything to do with operation ..... make sure your contractor does a load cal and not just rule of thumb estimate ..ben sr
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ben's plumbing For This Useful Post:
HVAC1000 (07-24-2013)
Old 07-29-2013, 12:49 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Having AC installed in a forced hot air only home


I have an update.. had another guy come through, with a totally different approach.

Perhaps I should have mentioned this earlier, but the house is a bi-level.

That being said, this chap prefers to leave the old HVnoAC alone and add an AC system to the attic. He would then add ducting to the kitchen/dining/bedrooms/bathrooms if I want to. The downside to this is, the two bedrooms would have no AC unless I run a duct through an upstairs wall, and the main area would rely on the cold air falling down the stairway.

Now. This makes sense. I fight the "basement"/downstairs for heat in the winter as it is, it's always cold. Even now in the heat, It's almost 10 deg cooler down there.

He has not come back with a price, but he hinted at 8, then 9, then 10K for a decent setup. We talked about a furnace swap as well, since he might be able to get a package deal on the 3 parts. He did say that I would only need a 3.5 ton unit with a attic mount and the newish windows that are there.

Suddenly I wonder if the over the phone quote I got was for a similar setup.
OmegaWS6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 04:16 PM   #20
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,541
Rewards Points: 2,762
Default

Having AC installed in a forced hot air only home


Shouldn't even need a 3.5 ton.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (07-29-2013)
Old 07-29-2013, 05:03 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 802
Rewards Points: 512
Default

Having AC installed in a forced hot air only home


Anybody that gives me a quote for a furnace and AC over the phone, or gives me a written quote that does not state what brand and model, well he won't be doing any work for me. I will not do business with people like that.
The outfit that I bought my last furnace from, they handled Lennox. They gave me 3 quotes (good, better, best) and all the literature and specifications on each so I could make an intelligent decision.
I think you need a couple more quotes.

SPS-1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to I legally pursue this home inspector? wzolla86 General DIY Discussions 28 05-15-2012 02:21 AM
History of Lomonaco's Iron Concepts & Home Decor John Lomonaco Introductions 0 11-08-2009 10:39 AM
NEWBIE- Looking to build my own Barn Home in Idaho LAWFISH General DIY Discussions 2 11-14-2008 07:43 PM
A facelift for your home Grumpy Remodeling 0 07-07-2004 07:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.