Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-30-2012, 10:40 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 346
Share |
Default

Haier furnaces


I was doing some browsing tonight and was surprised to find a site that sells Haier 95% two stage variable speed furnaces in the 7 to 8 hundred dollar range
How can they make something and sell it so cheap? It appears to have the same brands of parts that other manufacturers are using but other manufacturers are selling their equipment at double and tripple the price of these things.

sammy37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 04:39 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,532
Default

Haier furnaces


Maybe they are using the parts that failed quality control and were rejected by the other brands. Or maybe they are specing lower tolerance on the parts then other brands. Does it have a 5 year all parts warranty, and a 10 year VS blower motor warranty like other brands.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 06:23 AM   #3
HVAC Tech/Owner
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: VA
Posts: 404
Default

Haier furnaces


They are definately a product you get what you pay for=nothing.

Had a customer that built a new pub and we took over the maintenance...what junk...out of balance blower wheels...even the replacement was out of balance
Technow is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 07:42 AM   #4
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 12,963
Default

Haier furnaces


Guessing you are talking about Alpinehomeair.com. It is because they are buying large lots, and the fact that Haier America produces them down in South Carolina. But still it is a Chinese company.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: So what'll happen?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 01:08 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 346
Default

Haier furnaces


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Maybe they are using the parts that failed quality control and were rejected by the other brands. Or maybe they are specing lower tolerance on the parts then other brands. Does it have a 5 year all parts warranty, and a 10 year VS blower motor warranty like other brands.
Looks like lifetime HX and 10 year parts.
Sad to say, it looks to be built better than a Goodman.
sammy37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 01:10 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: winnipeg manitoba canada
Posts: 779
Default

Haier furnaces


that would not be hard.....
carmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 01:32 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 346
Default

Haier furnaces


Quote:
Originally Posted by carmon View Post
that would not be hard.....
. Guess I shouldnt laugh too hard, I used to love Goodman but seems like they've gone down hill so bad. They went out of their way to give me a tour of their Houston plant in the off season, I was the only one there and they sent me home with a few hats and T-shirts and were great people to talk to.
sammy37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 03:34 PM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,532
Default

Haier furnaces


Quote:
Originally Posted by sammy37 View Post
Looks like lifetime HX and 10 year parts.
Sad to say, it looks to be built better than a Goodman.
Haven't had much trouble with Goodman.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 03:48 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: winnipeg manitoba canada
Posts: 779
Default

Haier furnaces


well have had lots..... other brands no trouble..... they must not like Canadian winters....
carmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 04:18 PM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,532
Default

Haier furnaces


Quote:
Originally Posted by carmon View Post
well have had lots..... other brands no trouble..... they must not like Canadian winters....
LOL, could be.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 04:22 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: winnipeg manitoba canada
Posts: 779
Default

Haier furnaces


thing i Dont get 3 of my guys have one and they have been perfect..... our customers however have suffered a little.... no cost to them but it's a nuisance....
carmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 04:24 PM   #12
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,532
Default

Haier furnaces


LOL. Thats the way it is. A tech can have a POS that is hanging on by a thread, and it will last forever.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 04:26 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: winnipeg manitoba canada
Posts: 779
Default

Haier furnaces


I guess so........ I just got my first new a/c system last summer..... no idea why it took so long as I own the place...... used to fix every pos and bring it home ..... momma was getting upset.....
carmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 09:26 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 346
Default

Haier furnaces


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Haven't had much trouble with Goodman.
Me neither, it's just when you compare their stuff to some other brands, they look like someone assembled them in a garage.
I personally don't care for the way the pack units weather. A 2 year old Goodman looks like a 10 year old something else.
Hard to take pride in an install, if it's gonna look like crap in a matter of a couple years.
After five hard years of service, my Goodman rtu finally took a new CF motor. Not a bad track record compared to some stuff I've seen but my unit looks old and a lot of the paint is gone. Lol

sammy37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
any new technology in oil furnaces? av-geek HVAC 0 11-12-2012 12:54 PM
What brand of furnaces do you work on? R u brand specific? Liberator HVAC 7 01-25-2012 08:17 PM
I have a Coleman Furnaces DGAA077DTB and I want to install a A/C unit to it. yoshua HVAC 1 06-14-2011 11:19 PM
Twinned Furnaces Questions MrControls HVAC 12 12-13-2008 10:09 AM
2 furnaces 1 thermostat clarnp49 HVAC 3 12-05-2007 08:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.