Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-13-2011, 10:56 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 12
Share |
Default

Ground


Hey guys new here i had a guy test my A/C out would not start he used a voltmeter and there was no volts coming in (line side single pole contactor) but when he put one probe on contactor and the other probe
to the cabinet(ground) he read 120v each side i dont remember what this ment but just curious if you have no power coming in to unit but 120v to ground what does this mean is there voltage somewhere or is 120v to ground just saying its grounded to the unit. I appreciate your help in expalaning this to me
Tony vargas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 11:09 AM   #2
HVAC Tech/Owner
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: VA
Posts: 403
Default

Ground


It is 120 volts to ground on each side, 180 degrees out of phase to get 240volts across both. Did he fix it?
Technow is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 01:08 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 12
Default

Ground


Yes it was a breaker was tripped . i am not sure what you mean by 180 degrees out of phase to get 240volts can you be more laymans terms. can you touch the wire 120 v to ground , is there voltage there that can hurt you with no power (240) coming in, thanks alot for your time
Tony vargas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 03:01 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,487
Default

Ground


Voltage was coming in. But it was only coming in on 1 leg. So when reading across both legs it chowed no voltage because it had no return path. And yes, it can hurt you when only one leg has voltage.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 03:23 PM   #5
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

Ground


Quote:
can you touch the wire 120 v to ground , is there voltage there that can hurt you with no power (240) coming in, thanks alot for your time
yes, that 120 volts will kill you just as fast as any other 120 system. You have the same power at that point as you would with a wall outlet.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 04:10 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 12
Default

Ground


Awesome i get it now thanks for clarifying you guys been very helpful , great forum have a good day......
Tony vargas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To ground or not to ground Red Squirrel Electrical 2 10-14-2010 08:42 PM
Wiring an outlet using both ground screws instead of pig-tailing together. cabber24 Electrical 5 08-26-2010 08:40 AM
Electrical Ground Problem cabinetman Electrical 15 01-28-2010 04:55 PM
Live ground wire in dryer Retired sailor Electrical 10 05-04-2009 03:26 PM
Hot Tub Install--Grounding Rod Question statgeek_rob Electrical 16 09-15-2007 02:59 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.