DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum (http://www.diychatroom.com/)
-   HVAC (http://www.diychatroom.com/f17/)
-   -   Got a new AC & furnace. How long does the inspection take? (http://www.diychatroom.com/f17/got-new-ac-furnace-how-long-does-inspection-take-176129/)

addfsd 04-02-2013 05:28 PM

Got a new AC & furnace. How long does the inspection take?
 
The company that installed my new AC & furnace keep bothering me to set up a time for the city to come out and inspect their install. I've put it off for 2 weeks. Does this inspection take a long time and is it invasive?

yuri 04-02-2013 05:35 PM

Unlike the Doctor and his hopefully small fingers, No it is not invasive.:no: It can take 1-2 hrs depending on how thorough they are. In my area they sit down with the install manuals and carefully check all the venting requirements etc and take 1-2 hrs. I would budget for that amount of time and get it done soon. If you annoy them/delay them a couple times they will go thru it with an even finer tooth comb for revenge.:hammer:

joecaption 04-02-2013 05:36 PM

How would we know?
People here could be anyplace on the planet.
Why would you put it off?

concretemasonry 04-02-2013 06:05 PM

Sometimes the scheduling can take a long time if you cannot cut the corners.

I had a new furnace plus some work on the AC and they arrived at 8:00 AM and tore out the old and replaced with a new furnace plus some tin work since the new was smaller. Also cleaned out the A coil, installed proper drainage pipe, cleaned the compressor, and hauled everything away and cleaned up. The electrical inspector came at 3:00 PM and the furnace inspector at 3:30.

They (HVAC contractor) planned ahead and made specific times for the inspection well in advance and scheduled the electrical contractor to fit the job time.

If you do it routinely and often, it slides through because it is usually a fast and easy inspection. The electrical was minimal, but there was some gas pipe work in addition to some tin work. If it is late in the day for known contractor project, it also helps to have it flow. The building inspector looked at the name of the contractor on the furnace sticker and di not go much further.

The price of inspections was in the price of the work.

Dick

Marty S. 04-03-2013 06:12 AM

Replacement inspection takes fifteen minutes around here. Not a big deal.

veesubotee 04-03-2013 10:17 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Marty S. (Post 1151420)
Replacement inspection takes fifteen minutes around here. Not a big deal.

I was going to say that. When I had my system installed, there were 2 guys; one inside and one outside.

They were in and out quickly.

V

addfsd 04-03-2013 02:46 PM

OP here. The posts about it taking up to 2 hours really scared me! I decided to get it over with- scheduled it for Friday morning and thought if it takes 2 hours, I'll just go to work late around 10am.

The inspector just chuckled and said it usually takes 5 minutes. You Canadians must have some really thorough inspectors!

yuri 04-03-2013 03:51 PM

Yeah, unfortunately Yes and I am not sure why. Possible liability concerns but I actually think it is more of a political problem in my city between the trade and them. My Brother in Law had his inspected ( I installed it and underlined the venting specs in the manual) and the inspector still sat down and read the whole manual and I have had them underline parts they thought were wrong on some of my company"s jobs and red tag them. Just depends on which State or Province you live in. Ontario is tough too. Always best to be prepared though.

addfsd 04-03-2013 09:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by yuri (Post 1151701)
Yeah, unfortunately Yes and I am not sure why. Possible liability concerns but I actually think it is more of a political problem in my city between the trade and them. My Brother in Law had his inspected ( I installed it and underlined the venting specs in the manual) and the inspector still sat down and read the whole manual and I have had them underline parts they thought were wrong on some of my company"s jobs and red tag them. Just depends on which State or Province you live in. Ontario is tough too. Always best to be prepared though.

I would have much better peace of mind if it was like that here in the US. I can only imagine what they are missing with a 5 minute vs. 2 hour inspection.

techpappy 04-04-2013 09:08 AM

if the inspector takes more than 1/2 hr then he either, doesn't know what he's doing (has to read the manual) OR he's doggin' it. There are enough furnaces being installed so, there should be knowledgeable inspectors so, I'm goin' for "doggin it". Don't offer the inspector a coffe and don't let them use the bathroom. They will be faster!:laughing:

addfsd 04-04-2013 03:04 PM

So I'm home early from work today and the inspector had an open time slot. I said come on over!
Holy ****, the "inspection" took 30 seconds. What the hell?
1. He walked over to the AC and looked at it.
2. Went in the basement and wiggled the vent/intake pvc pipes to make sure they didn't move.
3. Looked at the electrical breaker panel.

He then gave me a slip of paper with his signature and the city's logo on it, and he was gone. This took literally 30-45 seconds. So this is what my tax money goes towards. Great. I could've done this myself, and I have 0 hvac experience!

1. "Ok, I see an AC unit here. Check."
2. "PVC pipes don't wiggle. Check."
3. "Hmm, so there IS a breaker panel. Check. Good to go!"

Doc Holliday 04-04-2013 04:01 PM

only a few things he needs concerned with such as clearance in front of the furnace for servicing (30" down here in Texas), the flu pipe one inch clearance from combustibles (fire hazard) and then for the outside condenser just if there's a pad under it (4" above grade) and an electrical disconnect if there is not an electrical service panel on the same wall.

That's it. The system function is not his concern.

btw, in the field the saying is an inspector is someone who couldn't make it in a trade.

addfsd 04-04-2013 04:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Doc Holliday (Post 1152437)
only a few things he needs concerned with such as clearance in front of the furnace for servicing (30" down here in Texas), the flu pipe one inch clearance from combustibles (fire hazard) and then for the outside condenser just if there's a pad under it (4" above grade) and an electrical disconnect if there is not an electrical service panel on the same wall.

That's it. The system function is not his concern.

btw, in the field the saying is an inspector is someone who couldn't make it in a trade.

Thank you Doc, now I know what he was looking for. Before your post, I thought I had been punked or something!

yuri 04-04-2013 05:18 PM

actually it is NOT that simple.

-they are supposed to due a simple check for gas leaks at the unit with a sniffer in case Bubba forgot to tighten everything properly or use pipe dope. seen that happen
-they are supposed to see the gas fitter tag # and look at the water heater beside it as lots of them are installed w/o permits and that is illegal where I am
-they are supposed to check the wiring for neatness and the overall venting to see the joints are glued and show enough glue. if you have been on this site for yrs like me and Beenthere you will have seen the horrific pics of wiirng and gas piping done on some units in attics etc and it is amazing more people don't die from Bubba and the illegal immigrants doing installs.

So there you have it, a proper inspection should take around 1/2 a hr but not more like where I am and they like to dog it and play games with us.

beenthere 04-04-2013 05:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Doc Holliday (Post 1152437)
only a few things he needs concerned with such as clearance in front of the furnace for servicing (30" down here in Texas), the flu pipe one inch clearance from combustibles (fire hazard) and then for the outside condenser just if there's a pad under it (4" above grade) and an electrical disconnect if there is not an electrical service panel on the same wall.

That's it. The system function is not his concern.

btw, in the field the saying is an inspector is someone who couldn't make it in a trade.

They are suppose to make sure the electrical disconnect is not behind the condenser. That the gas meter/reg vent is not with in 36" of anything electrical(source of ignition) on the condenser. Condensate drain is pitched properly. Secondary drain pan installed if needed. Along with both breakers being HACR breakers. And that the ducts are insulated properly if they are in an unconditioned space.

Plus a few other things I didn't mention.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:36 AM.


Copyright 2003-2014 Escalate Media LP. All Rights Reserved