Goodman Tempermental - Cycles On / Off - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-10-2005, 12:10 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Goodman tempermental - cycles on / off


I have a goodman gas 92% furnace 080-4 that cycles on and off. I cleaned the flame sensor but might have to replace it. While checking this , i noticed a slight puff back from top burner when blowers ignite after that it runs fine.
There does seem to be slight leakage during burner operation particularly from this one top burner.
is this common or do burners need replacing?

Advertisement

typhoon55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2005, 08:30 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Goodman tempermental - cycles on / off


If not the flame sensor then it could be a control board issue. Bad board or connection. If you can move some of the wires does it make it cycle on/off?

I have heard that improper polarity or a poor ground could cause similar symptoms.

Advertisement

hiWatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2006, 12:32 PM   #3
weinstall.ca
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: mississauga Ontario
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 25
Post

Goodman tempermental - cycles on / off


Quote:
Originally Posted by typhoon55
I have a goodman gas 92% furnace 080-4 that cycles on and off. I cleaned the flame sensor but might have to replace it. While checking this , i noticed a slight puff back from top burner when blowers ignite after that it runs fine.
There does seem to be slight leakage during burner operation particularly from this one top burner.
is this common or do burners need replacing?
It acually sounds more like flame roll out
How old is this unit?
Goodman had a problem with the rings coming of of the heat exchager.
this will cause the flames to jump off of the sensor losing flame sense.
Also check your air filter this can also cause your flame to blow back

allan
Clarkson Comfoer Zone Heating and Air Mississauga Ontario
weinstall.ca
allan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sub is swapping Amana for Goodman Dragon HVAC 22 02-04-2007 08:54 AM
Trouble - Goodman GMP100-3 Rev B cstelter HVAC 1 10-24-2006 01:27 PM
Goodman furnace: won't start Guyver03 HVAC 2 10-23-2006 03:25 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts