Goodman Heatpump - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-07-2009, 06:51 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

goodman heatpump


I have a goodman heatpump that will not start. I have checked that the high voltage is correct coming into unit, I also have checked low voltage at unit to make sure unit is calling and it is, I have checked uf on the capacitor and it is good, I also have checked voltage in to contactor and it is good, I can manual energize the contactor and units compressor and fan will run but contactor will not energize on its on.

Advertisement

tarheelhvac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2009, 07:19 PM   #2
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,472
Rewards Points: 504
Default

goodman heatpump


The only thing I didn't see is that you ohmed out the pull in coil on the contactor

Advertisement

__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2009, 08:35 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

goodman heatpump


plumber could you walk me thru how to do that
tarheelhvac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2009, 08:56 PM   #4
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,472
Rewards Points: 504
Default

goodman heatpump


The contactor has two wires coming from the furnace. These two wires usually connect on the side of the contactor. DISCONNECT POWER TO THE CONDENSER
Then remove the two wires and set the DVOM to ohm and connect one leads off the meter to the to terminals and measure the resistance

Also what was the voltage to the contactor on these two wires
__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2009, 11:21 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

goodman heatpump


Plumber I already had the contactor out thinking this is my bad part so I couldn't get the voltage on side terminals but I got 17.4 when I ohm the side terminals.
tarheelhvac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2009, 11:43 PM   #6
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,472
Rewards Points: 504
Default

goodman heatpump


The two wire connecting to the contactor should be around 24 volts ac. One wire is 24 vac and the other is the common or ground back to the control board. If on a call for the condenser to operate then taking the DVOM and setting it to ac voltage measuring between the two wire you should get 24 vac.

So what is your voltage
__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 08:50 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

goodman heatpump


Plumber I am getting no voltage to the 24 volt terminals on side of contactor. I notice the right side blue wires go back to the low voltage and the solid yellow and yellow with a blue stripe are going to limit switch off of compressor.
tarheelhvac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 09:59 PM   #8
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,472
Rewards Points: 504
Default

goodman heatpump


Post model and serial number so I can try and get a wiring diagram
__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 10:42 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

goodman heatpump


goodman model gsz130241ab
serial 0905133746

Advertisement

tarheelhvac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nordyne condenser goodman A-coil wtroger HVAC 10 09-16-2009 04:52 AM
Evaporator coil for Goodman A/C leschuler HVAC 2 09-25-2008 01:43 PM
goodman furnace nhicks HVAC 3 02-09-2008 07:25 PM
Replacing an 20 year old gas forced air with a 95% 2 stage goodman, goodman 40" tall, englewood1 HVAC 12 09-26-2007 12:37 AM
Sub is swapping Amana for Goodman Dragon HVAC 22 02-04-2007 08:54 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts