Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-14-2012, 10:56 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Goodman GSU06-3 problem


I have a Goodman GSU06-3
That ignites the burners only to stay lit for around 10 secs and then goes out.Blower etc still continues to run and it keeps repeating the cycle but does not trigger an error code. The LED stays o.
Had a Tech come out today and said he cleaned the flame sensor and replaced the terminal connector But still doing the same thing .
He said only thing to do is replace the furnace.

I asked about replacing the flame sensor and was told he's only replaced one in is 30 plus years of HVAC repair.

Everything I've read suggest a faulty / dirty flame sensor.
Should I replace and try to see if it works?
Just does not sound right and think he only wants to sell me a new system.
Help ????

Bubba Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 11:24 AM   #2
Items wanted: Time
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 195
Default

Goodman GSU06-3 problem


Get new tech, he should be able to measure the signal the flame sensor is sending. From there you can determime what the problem is

NiNe O is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 11:49 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Goodman GSU06-3 problem


NiNeO
Thank You. Figured he would have measured it for resistance etc. But apparently he just pulled it out and cleaned it.
Bubba Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 11:57 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

Goodman GSU06-3 problem


A flame sensor is just a steel rod with a ceramic insulator. If the ceramic isn't cracked or carbon traced there's nothing to fail on them. Corroded grounds or faulty control boards will do the same.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 12:17 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Goodman GSU06-3 problem


Going to check grounds and connectors .The house had been vacant for 2 years and I'm thinking corrosion on the terminals. I hope .
But wouldn't it through a fault code if not getting a reading from the Flame sensor?
BTW Thank You guys for helping.
Bubba Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 02:02 PM   #6
Items wanted: Time
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 195
Default

Goodman GSU06-3 problem


Ground problem is a likely culprit, make sure the ground is good all the way to the earth.
NiNe O is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 02:50 PM   #7
Roofmaster
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,605
Default

Goodman GSU06-3 problem


I have never seen any forum wherein the so called professionals that people call in to look at their HVAC system the answer to almost every problem is to install a new HVAC system. Most of the techs that answer in this forum say to call a licensed Technician, and it seems that most of them tell the Owner that they need a new system.

I guess at the going rate for service techs in the field of HVAC, which I frankly don't know about, the point of diminishing returns is achieved very quickly.

Does anybody know what a trained service tech makes, or a good place to go to school for this trade?
jagans is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 02:57 PM   #8
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Default

Goodman GSU06-3 problem


Around $90000 but you have to offer a lot new system.

Sent from my iPhone using DIY Forum
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 03:10 PM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,048
Default

Goodman GSU06-3 problem


Quote:
Does anybody know what a trained service tech makes, or a good place to go to school for this trade?
LOL, school is only the basics. Doesn't teach you half of what you need to know to be good.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 03:29 PM   #10
Roofmaster
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,605
Default

Goodman GSU06-3 problem


I agree, like all schools, what you learn there is just the basics. You learn the real stuff in the Bar. 90K is definitely better than a poke in the eye with a sharp stick though.
jagans is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 06:05 AM   #11
Items wanted: Time
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 195
Default

Goodman GSU06-3 problem


Do you have any idea of how much customer crap you have to break and short and catch fire and freeze to become a good HVAC tech. More for some but in my case plenty.

NiNe O is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
goodman gmpn100 venter problem lucydisguised HVAC 8 02-17-2011 06:37 PM
Septic problem or vent problem? wilsonstark Plumbing 9 01-17-2011 06:35 PM
Stymied by window leakage problem. Matth3w General DIY Discussions 5 06-11-2008 06:26 PM
Sub is swapping Amana for Goodman Dragon HVAC 22 02-04-2007 07:54 AM
Post-Tension Slab Problem Advice/Help Mike McBride Building & Construction 2 01-09-2007 01:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.