Goodman GMT Blower Runs Intermittently - HVAC - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-03-2014, 06:29 PM   #16
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,421
Rewards Points: 4,488
Default

Goodman GMT blower runs intermittently


Or the capacitor is weak.

Advertisement

__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 06:54 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Atlanta, Ga.
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Goodman GMT blower runs intermittently


Any good way to troubleshoot one from the other? I suppose i could just throw a capacitor at it first, but it would be kinda cool to actually know ahead.
laramsey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 06:56 PM   #18
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,421
Rewards Points: 4,488
Default

Goodman GMT blower runs intermittently


A multimeter that can read uF.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2014, 11:11 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Atlanta, Ga.
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Goodman GMT blower runs intermittently


Hey beenthere - OK, you make a good point. Should have figured that out on my own. Anyway I was able to find a meter with a cap. check, and it is out of tolerance, but not by much. 20 mfd, +/- 6%. Measures 17mfd, spec would be 18.8. I'm going to replace it, & might change the blower motor as well, just to save shipping & hopefully call it done. I guess the blower price will determine that - some are quite expensive, I see.

The cap. has a thin film of oil on the top surface only - clean on the sides & terminals, no accumulation - just a film. Is this a leaky capacitor, or something else, left from manufacturing maybe? Other comments?

I must not be living right - AC in my car quit today.
laramsey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2014, 05:16 AM   #20
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,421
Rewards Points: 4,488
Default

Goodman GMT blower runs intermittently


Sounds like the start of a leaking cap.

Hope your car's A/C is something easy to fix.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 03:58 PM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Atlanta, Ga.
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Goodman GMT blower runs intermittently


OK, so it took a while to get back around to this. I replaced the capacitor (with a new one), no difference. After running only twice for 10 or so seconds, the side of the motor about half way down was pretty hot. So what what do you guys think - is there anything else that could possibly be at fault here, besides the motor? (1/2HP, 1130RPM, 8.8A)

I considered just buying one, but I found it a little difficult to cross reference one.
Thanks everyone
laramsey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 04:33 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,471
Rewards Points: 1,298
Default

Goodman GMT blower runs intermittently


Definitely the motor. It shouldn't be getting hot that quick.
zappa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 06:27 PM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Atlanta, Ga.
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Goodman GMT blower runs intermittently


Quote:
Originally Posted by zappa View Post
Definitely the motor. It shouldn't be getting hot that quick.
Thought so - and good - because changing the motor is my third pitch and I can't stand to strike out. :-(

So besides specs, which numbers on the motor will matter when I go to order one Monday? In looking online, I can't see how people are cross-referencing these things - few specs, and little or no part numbers are posted.
laramsey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 08:08 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,471
Rewards Points: 1,298
Default

Goodman GMT blower runs intermittently


Quote:
Originally Posted by laramsey View Post
Thought so - and good - because changing the motor is my third pitch and I can't stand to strike out. :-(

So besides specs, which numbers on the motor will matter when I go to order one Monday? In looking online, I can't see how people are cross-referencing these things - few specs, and little or no part numbers are posted.
Well, I don't think there is anything left to replace besides the motor. I have a lot of small motor experience but not on HVAC systems so there might be something quirky that I don't know about. Voltage, HP, RPM, thermally protected, can be made to rotate in the correct direction, fit mechanically, and shaft size/mounting is all I can think of.

Edit: Capacitor value would be nice so you don't have to buy another one.

Last edited by zappa; 08-16-2014 at 08:15 PM.
zappa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 10:05 PM   #25
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Atlanta, Ga.
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Goodman GMT blower runs intermittently


Quote:
Originally Posted by zappa View Post
Well, I don't think there is anything left to replace besides the motor. I have a lot of small motor experience but not on HVAC systems so there might be something quirky that I don't know about. Voltage, HP, RPM, thermally protected, can be made to rotate in the correct direction, fit mechanically, and shaft size is all I can think of.

Edit: Capacitor value would be nice so you don't have to buy another one.
Agreed - specs should do the job - it would be a lot easier if they were posted. Ironic that in an online, self-service world, they are inviting real, actual, verbal phone calls...
laramsey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 11:26 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,471
Rewards Points: 1,298
Default

Goodman GMT blower runs intermittently


HVAC seems to be one of the last holdouts for DIY. I couldn't even buy a contactor for my heat pump at a local supply house. Had to use a friends account.
zappa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2014, 10:35 AM   #27
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Atlanta, Ga.
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Goodman GMT blower runs intermittently


So I finally swapped out the blower motor and all is well. Thanks everyone for helping!

Advertisement

laramsey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to laramsey For This Useful Post:
zappa (09-01-2014)
Reply

Tags
blower , goodman , intermittent


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Goodman Gas Furnace blower will not stop cyp555 HVAC 3 11-12-2012 09:37 PM
Heil 5000 Blower Motor Runs Continuously Blowing Cold Air boisechick3770 HVAC 2 11-12-2012 01:08 PM
York furnace - blower motor works intermittently on medium speed jeremyp969 HVAC 4 04-18-2012 01:37 PM
Main Blower Runs All The Time Needmotools HVAC 3 10-28-2011 07:18 PM
Goodman Heat Pump - Blower Motor FireFighter254 HVAC 9 03-05-2010 07:18 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts