Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-02-2009, 06:00 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 16
Share |
Default

Goodman GMS90703BXA


Switched thermostat to heat but nothing happened. The LED light is lit and when I shut power off to the machine the only thing I hear was a click...not fan, no ignitor..nothing.
The main blower motor works if I switch the fan to on from the thermostat.
Is this a ignitor problem?

ew&se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2009, 06:40 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,264
Default

Goodman GMS90703BXA


No. Do you own an electrical meter and know how to use it?

yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2009, 12:00 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 16
Default

Goodman GMS90703BXA


Yes, I think I tested the ignitor correctly. I checked for connectivity with the meter set on OHM's. I believe the ignitor is good, but not sure. The furnace is only 5 years old.
ew&se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2009, 07:28 AM   #4
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,264
Default

Goodman GMS90703BXA


Check for 24 volts between W and C on the circuit board with the tstat calling for heat. Door switch needs to be pressed in at the same time/put duct tape on it temporary. If no 24 volts your tstat may be faulty or a broken wire from it.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2009, 01:06 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 16
Default

Goodman GMS90703BXA


No reading for AC or DC on W and C terminals
ew&se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2009, 01:10 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 16
Default

Goodman GMS90703BXA


Would it be ok if you called me or I called you? The local parts store closes at 4 today and really need to get this furnace working.
ew&se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2009, 01:13 PM   #7
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,264
Default

Goodman GMS90703BXA


Sorry, I only help this way. If your LED is lit then you have power to the board and it means standby and OK. You should have 24 volts between R and C. If you do then jumper R and W at the tstat and see if it works. You may just need a new tstat.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2009, 01:16 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 16
Default

Goodman GMS90703BXA


is there a quick way to bypass the tstat from the furnace to check if the tstat is bad
ew&se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2009, 01:19 PM   #9
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,264
Default

Goodman GMS90703BXA


Jumper R and W at the board. I just finished looking at my neighbors unit/same as yours/lucky.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2009, 01:25 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 16
Default

Goodman GMS90703BXA


when i jumped the R and W the LED went out and nothing happened
ew&se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2009, 01:32 PM   #11
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,264
Default

Goodman GMS90703BXA


There should be a 3 amp fuse on the board which may have accidentally blown.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2009, 01:37 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 16
Default

Goodman GMS90703BXA


I have 27 vac coming out of the transformer. I tried turning on the AC and that doesn't work either.
ew&se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2009, 01:38 PM   #13
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,264
Default

Goodman GMS90703BXA


You still need to check for 24 volts from R to C as the fuse can be blown and transformer OK.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2009, 01:43 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 16
Default

Goodman GMS90703BXA


The fuse is ok, the AC is actually working and it doesn't seem like the tstat isn't working.
ew&se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2009, 01:45 PM   #15
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,264
Default

Goodman GMS90703BXA


If the LED is off then the board sounds bad. There should be a legend on the back of the doors with diagnostics and error codes, see if LED off means anything. It should be on and can flash a code if a press switch is open etc. If you jumpered R to W and you have 24 volts from R to C and no led it sounds like a bad board. The first thing that happens on a call for heat is the inducer fan starts.

yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nordyne condenser goodman A-coil wtroger HVAC 10 09-16-2009 03:52 AM
Evaporator coil for Goodman A/C leschuler HVAC 2 09-25-2008 12:43 PM
goodman furnace nhicks HVAC 3 02-09-2008 06:25 PM
Replacing an 20 year old gas forced air with a 95% 2 stage goodman, goodman 40" tall, englewood1 HVAC 12 09-25-2007 11:37 PM
Sub is swapping Amana for Goodman Dragon HVAC 22 02-04-2007 07:54 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.