Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-27-2010, 01:19 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 23
Share |
Default

Goodman GMS80453ana INOP


Hello all,

First let me say that I am new to this forum and not to knowledgeable about HVAC systems. Anyhow I need some assistance on getting my unit up and running. I was having trouble with the controller board continually blowing the 3A fuse. A friend that said he knows about HVAC put in a 5A fuse, when this happened the unit will not even blow the fuse. I have replaced the controller board with out any luck. Looking at the diagram on the door panel I think it could also the step down transformer to the controller board. Well if anyone has any suggest, it would be most welcomed.

Thanks,
The Noob

diynoobee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 05:04 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,544
Default

Goodman GMS80453ana INOP


Probably burnt out the transformer when he used that larger fuse.

Use a meter, and look for a short in the low voltage wiring.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 01:20 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 23
Default

Goodman GMS80453ana INOP


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Probably burnt out the transformer when he used that larger fuse.

Use a meter, and look for a short in the low voltage wiring.
beenthere I just found that it was indeed the xformer. I at least now can turn the fan on. But when I try to turn no the AC the fuse pops open. Any ideas why.

Thanks!

P.S. Even the fan on the temp dropped 2deg.
diynoobee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 03:58 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,544
Default

Goodman GMS80453ana INOP


There is a short in the low voltage circuit of the outdoor unit.
Either in the wiring from the furnace board to the unit. Or in the circuit in the outdoor unit.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 04:28 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 23
Default

Goodman GMS80453ana INOP


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
There is a short in the low voltage circuit of the outdoor unit.
Either in the wiring from the furnace board to the unit. Or in the circuit in the outdoor unit.

With that said, how do I a troubleshoot the low voltage circuit of the outdoor unit?

Thanks!!!!
diynoobee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 04:37 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,544
Default

Goodman GMS80453ana INOP


If you have a meter. Check for continuity to ground, in the wires.
if not. Remove the low voltage wires for the outdoor unit(writing down and or marking where they were connected). Turn power back on, and set stat for cooling. If the fuse pops, you have a short in the wire. if it doesn't then the short is in the unit.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 05:52 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

Goodman GMS80453ana INOP


This will pay for itself pretty quickly
http://www.parts-express.com/pe/show...number=074-022
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 05:53 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 23
Default

Goodman GMS80453ana INOP


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
If you have a meter. Check for continuity to ground, in the wires.
if not. Remove the low voltage wires for the outdoor unit(writing down and or marking where they were connected). Turn power back on, and set stat for cooling. If the fuse pops, you have a short in the wire. if it doesn't then the short is in the unit.
Beenthere,

Ok used the meter to ground and there was no short to ground on either of the 2 wires that go from the control board to the outside unit. But the fuse doesn't pop with the 2 wires disconnected from the control board. I did however do a continuity check of the 2 wires together and it did buzz. Should there be continuity between these 2 wires.

The 2 wires are connected on the furnace control board from the outside unit are White which is connected the "C" and Red which is connected to the "Y" which shares the yellow wire from the thermostat.

Appreciate your continued support!!!!!!

Last edited by diynoobee; 07-28-2010 at 05:54 PM. Reason: text editing
diynoobee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 05:58 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 23
Default

Goodman GMS80453ana INOP


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
This will pay for itself pretty quickly
http://www.parts-express.com/pe/show...number=074-022

You got that right!!!! been through 6 fuse during the trouble shooting process!!
diynoobee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 06:48 PM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,544
Default

Goodman GMS80453ana INOP


If the wires are disconnected on both ends. Then there should be no continuity.

If they were still connected to the outside unit. Then there should be continuity.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 07:52 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 23
Default

Goodman GMS80453ana INOP


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
If the wires are disconnected on both ends. Then there should be no continuity.

If they were still connected to the outside unit. Then there should be continuity.
Ok.. From outside the were connected. Not sure if I am reading the drwgs correctly but it looks like the Y and C are in series with a LPS, HPS and a coil. Y to HPS to LPS to Coil to C. You suspect that this circuit has an issue. I took the Y and C of the control board and did a continuity check to the HVAC unit (assuming that its grounded) but neither Y or C was grounded.

www.goodmanmfg.com/Portals/0/pdf/SS/SS-SSX14.pdf


Last edited by diynoobee; 07-28-2010 at 07:53 PM. Reason: add drwg
diynoobee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 09:21 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

Goodman GMS80453ana INOP


Quote:
Originally Posted by diynoobee View Post
the controller board continually blowing the 3A fuse.
put in a 5A fuse, when this happened the unit will not even blow the fuse.
24 V/(>3 A) = <8 ohms
24 V/(<5 A) = >5 ohms

Normal is probably
24 V/(<1.7 A) = >14 ohms.

If your circuit fault impedance is between 5 and 8 ohms instead of more than 14 ohms or less than 5 ohms, you may need more than a continuity checker to find the problem.
The solid state components on the control board need at least 1 Vdc to begin turning on.

Can you post a link to your tester?

Last edited by Yoyizit; 07-28-2010 at 09:25 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 09:32 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 23
Default

Goodman GMS80453ana INOP


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
24 V/(>3 A) = <8 ohms
24 V/(<5 A) = >5 ohms

Normal is probably
24 V/(<1.7 A) = >14 ohms.

If your circuit fault impedance is between 5 and 8 ohms instead of more than 14 ohms or less than 5 ohms, you may need more than a continuity checker to find the problem.
The solid state components on the control board need at least 1 Vdc to begin turning on.

Can you post a link to your tester?
It's like beenthere said, if the fuse doesn't blow when the compressor is not connected its something from the compressor up to the control board.
http://us.fluke.com/fluke/usen/Digit....htm?PID=56135

Last edited by diynoobee; 07-28-2010 at 09:34 PM.
diynoobee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 09:38 PM   #14
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,544
Default

Goodman GMS80453ana INOP


The coil of the contactor could be shorting to itself. And not have enough resistance.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 09:53 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 23
Default

Goodman GMS80453ana INOP


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
The coil of the contactor could be shorting to itself. And not have enough resistance.

What is a good resistance... 8ohms?

diynoobee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Goodman air handler adjustment Xander08 HVAC 2 12-24-2009 02:32 PM
Nordyne condenser goodman A-coil wtroger HVAC 10 09-16-2009 03:52 AM
Evaporator coil for Goodman A/C leschuler HVAC 2 09-25-2008 12:43 PM
goodman furnace nhicks HVAC 3 02-09-2008 06:25 PM
Sub is swapping Amana for Goodman Dragon HVAC 22 02-04-2007 07:54 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.