Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-07-2011, 05:10 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

goodman gmpn100 venter problem


Our furnace has been having this problem for about a year. The furnace starts, venter motor runs for 2 seconds, shuts off for 2 or 3 seconds and then starts again. The furnace will then run correctly thru its cycle. When this first happened, we changed the digital thermostat to an old round mercury honeywell we had. It stopped happening. We have now installed a new honeywell digital thermostat and it is happening again. It doesn't happen every time the furnace runs. Sometimes a couple times a day, sometimes not for days. Can someone tell me what the problem is?

Gloria

lucydisguised is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 06:41 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,080
Rewards Points: 3,820
Default

goodman gmpn100 venter problem


Post model number of the thermostat. Some thermostats are not compatible with some furnace boards, and either they can't be used. or a resistor or capacitor must also be installed.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 07:52 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

goodman gmpn100 venter problem


It is a Honeywell RTH221 1 day programmable thermostat.
lucydisguised is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 08:18 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,080
Rewards Points: 3,820
Default

goodman gmpn100 venter problem


Could be the batteries are weak. Try new batteries.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 10:43 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

goodman gmpn100 venter problem


The batteries are new and have been checked. They are fine. But this has happened 3 or 4 times today and the last time in started and shut off twice before it started the heat cycle.
lucydisguised is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 11:18 PM   #6
BIGRED
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 486
Rewards Points: 250
Default

goodman gmpn100 venter problem


If you have a powrventer after the furnace on the flue before it leaves the building you need to know that the thermostat actually turns the powrventer on or off. The powrventer has an air vane switch or an air flow vacuum switch that turns the furnace on and off. What usually happens is the motor shaft in the powrventer will start siezing after a few years because it hasn't had any lubrication since new, if then. There should be an oil lubrication hole at each end of the motor housing usually flush with the round surface of the casing. Get yourself a "Zoom Spout Oiler" from a local hardware store and squirt 4-6 drops of oil in each oil hole. The problem should go away in one furnace cycle. Then repeat the procedure yearly, usually in the fall with 2-3 drops of oil in each hole.

Last edited by Grampa Bud; 01-07-2011 at 11:21 PM.
Grampa Bud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 11:59 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

goodman gmpn100 venter problem


The furnace model is actually GMNT-100 and on this furnace there is no place to oil. It is sealed. We have decided to replace the vent pressure switch. It is inexpensive and easy to replace.

Thanks for your input and I will let you know if this works. We have decided that it is probably not the thermostat.

Gloria
lucydisguised is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 01:01 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

goodman gmpn100 venter problem


The pressure switch checks that the inducer is on and the flue is clear. It does not start and stop the inducer.
Control board would be my first guess. Checking the board, safeties, and inducer with a meter would eliminate the need to guess.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 07:37 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

goodman gmpn100 venter problem


I want to let you all know that we did replace the venter/pressure switch and the problem seems to be solved. No malfunction since the new one was installed.

Thanks for all you input.

Gloria

lucydisguised is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Payne with power venter problem magicatt HVAC 10 12-31-2010 08:25 AM
Help Carrier, Briant Furnance with Variable motor problem ahenderson HVAC 1 12-19-2010 01:07 PM
Goodman Heatpump problem solved! Rollie HVAC 4 12-14-2010 07:52 PM
Stymied by window leakage problem. Matth3w General DIY Discussions 5 06-11-2008 07:26 PM
Sub is swapping Amana for Goodman Dragon HVAC 22 02-04-2007 08:54 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.