Goodman GMP100-3 Nothing Happens! - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-24-2007, 01:50 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Goodman GMP100-3 Nothing Happens!


Hello...1st post here. Problem is w/ my furnace in my work shop. Last spring I turned it on after sitting off for two weeks & nothing happens. It ran fine all last winter 'til it was off for the two weeks.

There is no LED code. It is on solid, not blinking.

Where do I start? Are all the plastic switches rollout switches? And do you have to push down w/ some force to get them to reset? Are the tabs suppose to be flush w/ the body of the part? They are all raised a little!

Any help would be appreciated !!!

Advertisement

plh_in is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 05:04 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 343
Rewards Points: 266
Default

Goodman GMP100-3 Nothing Happens!


Not as familiar with Goodman as with other brands, but ussually a solid light indicates that you have power on to the unit. A blinking light will generally tell you there is a call for heating from the thermostat. Is it possible that your thermostat isn't making the connection to the furnace? It is easy enough to take the stat off of the wall and jumper the 2 wires together. 1 is connected to the R terminal on the stat and the other is connected to the W terminal. R is your 24 v power to the stat, and W is the call for heat that takes that 24v back to the furnace to tell it to fire up. By putting these two wires together you are making the call for heat. That is what I would try first.
You may have to turn the power to the furnace off for a couple minutes and back on agin to clear any codes that may be in the memory, if there is another problem, so that you can see what is going on from there. There should be a chart on the inside of the furnace which will tell you what the LED codes mean if they may be different than what I expect. They will also be in the service manual if you still have it. The roll out switches ussually protrude out from the body of the switch by about a 1/16th of an inch or so, and when they open ussually you can tell when they reset when you push them in, and you may even hear a slight tick.

Try that and get back to us if you need more info.

Dave

Advertisement

HVACDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Evaporator coil for Goodman A/C leschuler HVAC 2 09-25-2008 01:43 PM
Replacing an 20 year old gas forced air with a 95% 2 stage goodman, goodman 40" tall, englewood1 HVAC 12 09-26-2007 12:37 AM
Sub is swapping Amana for Goodman Dragon HVAC 22 02-04-2007 08:54 AM
Trouble - Goodman GMP100-3 Rev B cstelter HVAC 1 10-24-2006 01:27 PM
Goodman furnace: won't start Guyver03 HVAC 2 10-23-2006 03:25 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts