Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-02-2008, 01:11 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Goodman GMP100-3 Forced Air Furnace Will Not Ignite


I have a Goodman GMP100-3 Forced Air Furnace that's about ten years old.

When the thermostat calls for the gas to come on, the forced air fan starts. A minute or so later, I hear a clicking noise, followed by the hiss (and faint smell) of gas. After about five or six seconds, the gas shuts off but the forced air fan continues to blow. It attempts to ignite again after about a minute. After three tries, the unit shuts down. The light on the circuit board flashes once, indicating ignition failure.

When the gas starts, I have been able to light the gas manually. (Yes, I know I'm begging for an obituary.) When I light the gas manually, the burners comes on and stay on. The sensor rod glows red and the unit operates normally until the gas turns off. Then the scenario repeats itself. If I'm not at the unit before it tries to light for the third time, the unit shuts down and will not restart until I have removed the lower cover and replaced it.

Is this something a DIY'er can fix, or do I need to call a professional (before I blow up my basement)?

Meerkat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 01:15 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: n.IL
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Goodman GMP100-3 Forced Air Furnace Will Not Ignite


I am by no means an expert, but I would think that your igniter needs to be replaced.

4thtbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 01:35 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Goodman GMP100-3 Forced Air Furnace Will Not Ignite


I can see the hot-surface gas igniter. It is not glowing before/when the gas comes on. Should it be?

It looks like something you just unplug and replace. Or is there more to it than that?
Meerkat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 03:05 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: n.IL
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Goodman GMP100-3 Forced Air Furnace Will Not Ignite


Yes, the igniter should be glowing. It should be just a swap out the old, install a new one repair. Be sure to shut the power off to the furnace prior to replacing it.
4thtbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2008, 09:44 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Goodman GMP100-3 Forced Air Furnace Will Not Ignite


The replacement hot-surface gas igniter came in today. It was a difficult extraction of the old one, but the new one went in easily. Now I have the OPPOSITE problem.

The igniter glows red now, but now the gas doesn't flow. I don't hear the click that I used to hear as the valve was opening. I tried turning the gas valve inside the unit off, running the unit, then turning it back on again.

So now the igniter works, but no gas flow.

Any ideas anyone?
Meerkat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Goodman GMP100-3 Forced air furnace sylvia HVAC 23 12-18-2011 10:49 AM
Goodman GMT-070-4 Furnace blows 3A Fuse Bruce Mundy HVAC 4 01-02-2008 11:31 PM
Oil burning forced air furnace.... good bad or ugly? moneymgmt HVAC 2 06-21-2007 12:01 AM
Goodman furnace problems GMT045-3A wcoent HVAC 7 12-18-2006 11:30 PM
Goodman furnace: won't start Guyver03 HVAC 2 10-23-2006 03:25 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.