Goodman Gmp075 4 Won't Light - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-05-2009, 07:05 PM   #1
Tile and Stone
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Oxnard, California
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Goodman gmp075 4 won't light


I'm new and need some help. I have a goodman furnace gmp075 4 and it won't light. The igniter heats up then shuts off. Over and over. I cleaned the flame sensor as recommended. Also the led is not flashing, it is on steady. Just no gas being released by the valve assy. Any suggestions?

Advertisement

Steve72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 07:50 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,137
Rewards Points: 912
Default

Goodman gmp075 4 won't light


Do you have an electrical meter and know how to use it? You can check for 24 volts A/C at the valve when the igniter is glowing. Usually has a 30 second warmup period and then energized the gas valve. If not then the board is probably bad. Had lots of trouble with them. The LED should be flashing a flame failure code so I suspect it is the board. Make sure the metal mount that the board is on is securely fastened and that there is continuity from that metal to ground.

Advertisement

yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 08:11 PM   #3
Tile and Stone
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Oxnard, California
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Goodman gmp075 4 won't light


I will have to get one, I do know how to use one thanks for the reply
Steve72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 09:19 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 440
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Goodman gmp075 4 won't light


Check the manual reset spill switches around the burner box. One may have tripped. The little button between the wires resets the switch. If one is tripped you will want to have that heat exchanger checked. Should be 3 or 4 switches.
SKIP4661 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 10:29 PM   #5
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,137
Rewards Points: 912
Default

Goodman gmp075 4 won't light


In my experience ALL safeties have to prove B4 the igniter glows. Not my favorite unit.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 11:24 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 41
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Goodman gmp075 4 won't light


Correct Yuri.

This is a problem with the control board. The ignitor doesn't stay on long enough to ignite the burners. As soon as the gas valve opens, the ignitor shuts off. Still not enough to ignite.

Last edited by chard; 02-05-2009 at 11:32 PM.
chard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 07:27 AM   #7
G71
Pro
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 31
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Goodman gmp075 4 won't light


Agreed, have changed several of those boards this year.
G71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 06:38 PM   #8
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Goodman gmp075 4 won't light


.

Advertisement

__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Schematic for Goodman Mod. GMP075 AlBen53 HVAC 8 01-29-2009 02:25 PM
Goodman furnace won't light anotherday HVAC 3 10-29-2008 08:03 PM
Marmoleum repairs muggyfrost Flooring 8 10-16-2008 09:19 PM
Furnace won't light (Goodman GMP100-3) MattJ HVAC 8 10-03-2008 10:11 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts