Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-09-2008, 04:54 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Goodman gmp075-4 flame won't stay on


hi, I have a Goodman GMP075-4 furnace. It ignites and shoots flames momentarily and then quits. After a moment, it tries again and then quits. Any ideas? Could it be a flame sensor? Below is a short video I may after kicking on the thermostat. I tried to embed and also posted a direct link. Thanks, Jim

<embed width="448" height="361" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" src="http://i264.photobucket.com/player.s...VIDEO_0061.flv">

http://s264.photobucket.com/albums/i...ishin69/heater issues/?action=view&current=VIDEO_0061.flv

n2fishin69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 05:16 PM   #2
Member
 
HvacWiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northwest Ohio
Posts: 286
Default

Goodman gmp075-4 flame won't stay on


Yep, remove your flame sensor, clean it with fine sandpaper or steel wool and your problem will be solved.

HvacWiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 05:21 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
Default

Goodman gmp075-4 flame won't stay on


THANKS! I will try that and post the results!
Jim
n2fishin69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 06:10 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
Default

Goodman gmp075-4 flame won't stay on


HavacWiz,
Thanks! I cleaned it with 400 grit sandpaper and it took care of the problem! I also vaccuumed up a lot of dust balls while I was in there because it did not seem safe.
Thank you very much!
Jim
n2fishin69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 09:08 PM   #5
Member
 
HvacWiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northwest Ohio
Posts: 286
Default

Goodman gmp075-4 flame won't stay on


Your welcome, glad to help.
HvacWiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 08:30 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Goodman gmp075-4 flame won't stay on


Where do I locate the flame sensor? I have the same model with the same problem, but unfortunately do not have the manual. Can you provide me the details of where this is located? Is it an easy thing to remove? Is there somewhere that provides an illustration or a photograph that would clearly identify where it is? Any help that you can provide would be very much appreciated. It's darn cold.
Ibarionex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 08:42 PM   #7
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,220
Default

Goodman gmp075-4 flame won't stay on


In front of, usually the left burner. Looks like this:
Attached Images
 
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 09:32 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Goodman gmp075-4 flame won't stay on


Thanks for the quick reply. I found the sensor, but I'm having a hard time removing the screws to remove the sensor. Just can't get the right angle.

While I was down there though, I did find that the burners appear not to be on or even fail to ignite when the furnace comes on. Should it? Since this doesn't have a pilot light how do I ignite the flame?

I appreciate you helping a repair novice such as myself.
Ibarionex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 01:32 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: palm coast fl
Posts: 588
Default

Goodman gmp075-4 flame won't stay on


do you see the orange glow of the ignitor prior to the click and woosh sound of the gas valve opening? or did you hear the tink sound of you breaking the ignitor while trying to get at the flame sensor screws
kennzz05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 11:12 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Goodman gmp075-4 flame won't stay on


The only sound I hear is the motor engaging. There is no whoosh sound nor any clicking. It's just the motor. I completely unplugged the unit for 5 minutes and turned off the pilot. After plugging it back in, I turned on the pilot, my wife turned on the heater on the thermostat. When she increased the temperature, that's when I heard the motor. So, there is no flame at all for the sensor to detect. Any thoughts? Thank you.
Ibarionex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 04:56 PM   #11
Member
 
JohnH1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 428
Default

Goodman gmp075-4 flame won't stay on


Look through the peep hole and there should be a flashing red light. Count how many flashes there are and then look on the back of the blower door flash code chart and let us know what it says.
JohnH1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2009, 01:28 AM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
Default

Goodman gmp075-4 flame won't stay on


Thank you for all these great replies. It helped me get the unit working again. I had the same symptoms and the same unit as described by n2fishin69 and after cleaning the flame sensor the unit started working again. Some A/C tech wanted to replace the control board, but thanks God that I did not let him do any useless work and came here to find the light. Thank you again.
king1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2009, 01:27 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Goodman gmp075-4 flame won't stay on


I've learned a lot over the last several days in trying to figure out this problem. I appreciate all the help that you fellows have provided me. It's been quite the education.

A technician from the gas company came by and found that the ignitor was the source of the problem. It had burned out. The next challenge was trying to find a place that actually had it in stock. I wasting half a day making calls and driving around, I finally placed an order with a part distributor in Van Nuys. One more night of warmth by fireplace. I'm so glad that I live in SoCal, where it may be cold but I can survive the night.

Thanks again.
Ibarionex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2009, 01:33 PM   #14
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,220
Default

Goodman gmp075-4 flame won't stay on


It's so cold where I am they came up with the name "Three Dog Night". Need 3 dogs to keep you warm.

yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Goodman GMP Furnace won't stay lit. JoelT HVAC 10 12-16-2012 11:24 AM
Goodman 80%, igniter glows no flame diyjohn HVAC 16 11-20-2008 02:47 PM
RUUD gas furnace - flame will not stay on frostyfreeze HVAC 1 11-07-2008 11:25 PM
Goodman Furnace GMNT100-4b Won't stay on freeslporer HVAC 3 10-30-2008 06:42 PM
Sub is swapping Amana for Goodman Dragon HVAC 22 02-04-2007 07:54 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.