Goodman GMP-075 Furnance - No Flame ? - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-05-2010, 07:28 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Goodman GMP-075 furnance - no flame ?


I have Goodman GMP 075-03 furnace that won't start (no flame).

Symptoms=

ID fan runs. Thr ignitor glows for a few seconds (no flame or gas sound/odor then everything shuts down and recycles.

I disconnected the 2 wires that operate the gas valve and found that it is getting 24V when the ignitor is operating . There are no trouble codes showing on the furnace control board.


I brielf tried powering the gas valve with 24V directly from the secondary terminals of the transformer. I hear it click but did not hear or smell any gas . I presume that the problem is the gas valve . Is there anything else to check or adjust ?

-Thanks

Advertisement


Last edited by rkpatt; 11-06-2010 at 08:40 AM.
rkpatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 07:51 PM   #2
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,472
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Goodman GMP-075 furnance - no flame ?


First you need to make sure there is gas to the gas valve.

If there is then make sure the valve is turned to the on position

Make a call for heat, after the ignitor glows you should hear a click from the control board turning on the gas valve. LIGHTLY tap on the gas valve and see if it starts working. Sometimes the valvemay stick. If taping on the valve works then you need a new gas valve and then again even if this does not work you still may need a new gas valve

Advertisement

__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 08:02 PM   #3
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,092
Rewards Points: 822
Default

Goodman GMP-075 furnance - no flame ?


Make sure the gas is turned on at the meter outside. Do you have a gas water heater and does it work? If not you may have a gas supply problem and need to call the utility co.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 08:05 PM   #4
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,472
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Goodman GMP-075 furnance - no flame ?


Can't remember how many times last year 2:30 in the mornigng doing a service call.

No gas...walk outside wap on the meter and wha-la we have gas.

Gas company called and replace the meter. Fought one for three weeks freak'n PRV
__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 08:07 PM   #5
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,092
Rewards Points: 822
Default

Goodman GMP-075 furnance - no flame ?


That is SO true. Gas valves in furnace rarely fail, less than 10% of my calls are for them. Had a wonky regulator and meter fail on me and it took 3 visits B4 the dammn thing failed when I was there.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 08:10 PM   #6
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,472
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Goodman GMP-075 furnance - no flame ?


Same here 3 trips. I finally caled the gas co and asked them to replace the meter. When they did and turned back ou the gas the PRV failed and started releasing gas so they replaced the regulator to.

Funny how the cold jacks with things.
__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 08:26 PM   #7
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,092
Rewards Points: 822
Default

Goodman GMP-075 furnance - no flame ?


Like any mechanical device they can wear out and fail. Diaphram in the regulator can get a hole in it etc. Mechanical link in meter can fail. They random inspect them here for accuracy etc and replace a series/batch of them every 7 years I believe.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 08:50 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Goodman GMP-075 furnance - no flame ?


Other gas appliances in the house are operating fine ( another GMP 075-3 furnace in the attic, gas water heater, gas stove ).

Tapping on the regulator with 24VAC power applied has no effect .

I could call the gas company and ask the to check things on their end but I don't think that is the problem .



The valve in this furnace is a White Rogers a 36E22 202.

I am shopping for a replacement and need to know what gas valves cross reference to this one or find a suitable universal replacement gas valve .

The Sears Parts web site (http://www.searspartsdirect.com/part...3/1771/0912130 )

Shows -

" B12826-14, Substitution:36H32-304 "

What other gas valves will work with this furnace without having to adjust pressure or change burner orifices ?
rkpatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 09:08 AM   #9
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,092
Rewards Points: 822
Default

Goodman GMP-075 furnance - no flame ?


White Rodgers suggested valve:
http://www.emersonclimate.com/en-US/...?key=36E22-202

The Sears one may be wrong or for an older furnace. I checked the specs at WR and it is for a furnace with a standing pilot light. Yours has a HSI.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 11-06-2010 at 09:21 AM.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 11:18 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Goodman GMP-075 furnance - no flame ?


Yuri - Thanks for the information on the gas valve. Could it be used on the GMP 075-3 with the factory pressure settings or will I need to adjust it (using a u-tube manometer)?
rkpatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 12:20 PM   #11
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,092
Rewards Points: 822
Default

Goodman GMP-075 furnance - no flame ?


Order the correct one for natural gas or propane (may have a conversion kit with it for that). It comes preset for nat gas but it is a good idea to check the pressure anyway. One of our buds may be able to help you. search: homeairdirect

May be able to properly cross ref it to a Honeywell also.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 11-06-2010 at 12:23 PM.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 04:33 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Goodman GMP-075 furnance - no flame ?


I will try to find one locally Mon AM at a local HVAC supply house . If I have any difficulty (no HVAC license) , I will order it online .
rkpatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 10:57 AM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Goodman GMP-075 furnance - no flame ?


One quick question before I buy the new valve.

When I powered to the valve , should it have permitted flow immediately (after the audible solenoid actuation or is there an internal delay of some kind. I only powered it for about a second or two.

- Thanks
bamx2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 11:15 AM   #14
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,092
Rewards Points: 822
Default

Goodman GMP-075 furnance - no flame ?


Should open quite quickly, within a second.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2010, 08:31 PM   #15
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,367
Rewards Points: 1,098
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Goodman GMP-075 furnance - no flame ?


these furnaces are known for cracked heat exchangers! Have it checked professionally!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Advertisement

hvactech126 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ruud furnace issue on upgrade board and flame sensor rubberman HVAC 23 11-05-2014 01:36 PM
Goodman furnance stop running Natth HVAC 3 04-11-2010 10:28 PM
Goodman Gpnu series, flame roll out Robertfrey1967 HVAC 4 01-13-2010 11:36 AM
Goodman gmp075-4 flame won't stay on n2fishin69 HVAC 13 01-29-2009 02:33 PM
Goodman 80%, igniter glows no flame diyjohn HVAC 16 11-20-2008 03:47 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts