Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-31-2010, 08:15 PM   #16
30 year tech
 
hvac122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 427
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Goodman GMH95 Intermittent problem


What size is the by-pass for your zone system? What brand is it? What size is the furnace?

hvac122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 05:49 AM   #17
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,643
Rewards Points: 2,424
Default

Goodman GMH95 Intermittent problem


High limits usually take several minutes to reset and not stutter/cut in quickly like his. Unless it is weak from overtripping.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 06:35 AM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 20
Default

Goodman GMH95 Intermittent problem


I replaced a 80% 115K with a 100K 95% unit.
mattyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 08:23 AM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Goodman GMH95 Intermittent problem


It looks like you have not connected the drain hose for the discharge side of the inducer blower correctly. you have it hooked up to the body of the blower. It should be hooked up to the small extension on the rubber elbow that connects from the inducer blower discharge to the flue pipe. See page 19 of the GMH95 installation instructions. You also need to replace the original plastic cap or you won't get a correct pressure to close the pressure switches.
michael77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 10:53 PM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Goodman GMH95 Intermittent problem


does your furnace have work properly when the cover is removed? what size is your exhaust pipe? also the drain hose on the exhaust side is connected to the wrong spot, but thats not your problem, check your manual for horizontal installation and get that changed though.
FTAJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 03:50 PM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 20
Default

Goodman GMH95 Intermittent problem


So a little update and answers. Now there are a few versions of the install manual out on the web. The one that came with the unit shows that I did not need to use the elbow with the drain spout. I had to cut a piece of pipe and then use a rubber coupling that came with it.

The furnace does not work properly with the cover off. I have to believe that this is a heat related issue though. It will only malfunction after it has been operating for a while. Once the unit has heated up, it then malfunctions. I just replaced the control board on the unit as it was diagnosed as bad by a service company and that didn't work. The exact same condition so they'll be back out again tomorrow to take yet another look. What doesn't make any sense to me is if there's an issue, why does the control board not flash a code?
mattyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 05:54 PM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 20
Default

Goodman GMH95 Intermittent problem


Sorry I forgot to mention that both the intake and exhaust go right from 2" to 3". If you look on page 15 of the manual, that's where it shows the install I performed.
mattyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 08:27 PM   #23
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Goodman GMH95 Intermittent problem


I would connect vm to ps & see if the ps is dropping out. If not connect vm to limit. Something is dropping 24v to make it shut down
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 10:44 PM   #24
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Goodman GMH95 Intermittent problem


did you check your gas pressure? what is your elevation? I had some of these models do this to me before but dont be alarmed its not a bad furnace its just to powerfull, let me know if you have access to a manometer and I will be happy to tell you the procedure to fix the problem
FTAJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 07:06 AM   #25
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 20
Default

Goodman GMH95 Intermittent problem


I did not check gas pressure. I don't have a manometer. I had heard that about these units that overall they're good but can be a little temperamental.
@kenmac - I'll try that when I get home today to see what happens. A service tech. is supposed to come out today anyway so we'll see what happens. At this point I just want consistent heat.
mattyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 07:53 PM   #26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 20
Default

Goodman GMH95 Intermittent problem


It's official. The problem was a pressure switch. The service guy had a replacement in his truck and installed it and the furnace works like a charm. The bad switch, when put on a multi-meter, would just show open/close randomly.

I want to thank all of you for your help. Needless to say, I learned a heck of a lot more about my furnace through all of this.
mattyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 08:25 PM   #27
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,643
Rewards Points: 2,424
Default

Goodman GMH95 Intermittent problem


Yep, they will flutter quickly and the board needs time to recognize it. Glad it works. Make sure your bypass damper works properly and that you stay within the temp rise specs. Want to be 10 degF lower ideally. Long term slight overheating can wreck heat exchangers and collector boxes.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2011, 04:28 AM   #28
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Goodman GMH95 Intermittent problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by mattyb View Post
I just raised the pitch of it a bit to see if that would help but same result. Here are the pics.
take hose ofinducer motor the one that drains to bottom go by longer hose you'll see plug in exiest from inducer motor take plug and put in hole on inducer motor drain water from inducer exiest to botom (your not drain condensation from pvc exiest properelly if you furnace is seting on it's left side waiter need to drain from pvc pipe down to pump if you dont under stand me i'm hard to keep up with I can send you a pic I've came acroos this problem about 15 times and it's always on goodman that are horizontal.and are not draining because they where installed incorect

mikey101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Goodman GMNT 80-4 problem onsetcharlie HVAC 11 01-10-2012 12:11 PM
Goodman Gas Pack Outside Fan Problem tmbenner2004 HVAC 1 10-04-2010 10:28 AM
septic problem??? jjrbus Plumbing 2 09-09-2009 09:59 PM
Stymied by window leakage problem. Matth3w General DIY Discussions 5 06-11-2008 06:26 PM
Sub is swapping Amana for Goodman Dragon HVAC 22 02-04-2007 07:54 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.