Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-30-2010, 01:33 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 20
Default

Goodman GMH95 Intermittent problem


Hello all,
I did a self install of the GMH95 furnace. Actually myself and another guy did it. I'm now running into an issue only after the furnace has run for about a half an hour. Here's what happens. During the half hour time period the unit might go through 4 calls for heat in which it performs the heating cycle exactly as described in the manual. It then hits a certain point which makes me think this is somehow temperature related. The t-stat will call for heat. The induced induction blower starts, the igniter switches on, valve opens and the burners light, it will then "flame out". It then gets stuck in this loop of trying to light to satisfy the call for heat. This same situation can happen even if the unit has been running. As I'm typing the furnace had been running for approximately 7 minutes, when I hear and feel the circulating blower cut out for a split second and burner flames have gone out. I've checked the rollout limit switches for continuity and they appear to be ok. The fuse on the control board is not blown and shows continuity as well. The furnace is level end to end and pitched slightly forward as indicated. Venting is not blocked and is per the manual. So I'm at a loss. Any ideas as to what this could be. Again, it only seems to happen after the unit warms up, which to me doesn't make any sense. It is hooked up to NG and both my dryer and water heater function perfectly.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

mattyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 01:51 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,787
Rewards Points: 2,712
Default

Goodman GMH95 Intermittent problem


Might not be draining the condensate properly/fast enough and building up in the secondary coil. Post some pics of it with the doors off and the condensate trap and drain line. May need a bit more elevation to the front.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 02:07 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 20
Default

Goodman GMH95 Intermittent problem


I just raised the pitch of it a bit to see if that would help but same result. Here are the pics.
Attached Thumbnails
Goodman GMH95 Intermittent problem-cimg2460.jpg   Goodman GMH95 Intermittent problem-cimg2461.jpg  
mattyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 02:14 PM   #4
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,787
Rewards Points: 2,712
Default

Goodman GMH95 Intermittent problem


When it stutters does the MAIN blower stutter or is it just the exhaust blower. Should not have 4 cycles in a half hour. 2 would be normal. Is the furnace properly grounded. Check from the electrical box inside the furnace to a copper water line with a cheater wire if necessary. Poor grounding can upset modern furnaces and their circuit boards. Try a new thermostat as it may be fluttering and causing that problem. That is a pretty good reliable furnace.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 10-30-2010 at 02:18 PM.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 02:38 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 20
Default

Goodman GMH95 Intermittent problem


I had thought it was just the circulating blower that cuts out but it's both blowers. Both of the t-stats are brand new and it doesn't matter which one calls for heat, the furnace does the same thing. The reason for so many calls for heat in a short period of time is because my house is 107 years old and is brick with no insulation. The furnace will bring it up to temp. quickly, but I lose the heat pretty quickly as well. If the inside temp has been stable for a while the furnace kicks on far less.
mattyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 02:40 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 20
Default

Goodman GMH95 Intermittent problem


Could this be a faulty valve? Should I shut the gas off and disconnect the line and check the valve to make sure that everything is clean inside?
mattyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 03:38 PM   #7
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,787
Rewards Points: 2,712
Default

Goodman GMH95 Intermittent problem


Did you check the grounding? Something is aggravating the circuit board and causing it to dropout. Make sure the furnace is grounded properly and you have at least 110 volts to it. Sounds like you got power supply problems to it and the board is getting low voltage and heating up. Is the wiring up to modern standards in your house. No extra loads on the furnace circuit. You may have a bad or floating neutral connection in the panel/house. My bud Beenthere knows about some issue with improper neutrals we discussed earlier I believe and should be around here later.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 04:06 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 20
Default

Goodman GMH95 Intermittent problem


Grounding is good. When we installed it we put all new wiring in. And that's one thing I trust because the guy who helped me is an electrician. I just pulled the gas piping to check the valve and it looked good. The only other thing I see in the manual good be the primary limit switch. It might not be getting enough cool air over the heat exchanger and it keeps tripping the system.
mattyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 04:27 PM   #9
30 year tech
 
hvac122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 427
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Goodman GMH95 Intermittent problem


Is your temperature rise withen limits?
hvac122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 04:53 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 20
Default

Goodman GMH95 Intermittent problem


As of right now, yes. I was only able to run it for about 4 minutes before it started acting up again. For Celsius, the range is 19-36 degrees and it fell at 30 degrees. But, I don't know if I would be pushing close to the limit if it ran for the full 10 minutes like the manual states. I'm going to let the unit sit overnight and try it again tomorrow.
mattyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 05:30 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Goodman GMH95 Intermittent problem


Are the vents sloped and supported properly? Sounds like a pressure switch bouncing.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 05:40 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 20
Default

Goodman GMH95 Intermittent problem


Yep. I had questioned whether or not the exhaust vent was so I trimmed the pipe that connects to the furnace which gave it a bigger slope. But all pipes or secured.
mattyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 07:14 PM   #13
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Goodman GMH95 Intermittent problem


sounds like cycling off on high limit due to low air flow. Unit should stay on until t. stat is satisfied. Put a vm on the limit & see if it's turning off on limit
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2010, 07:03 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 20
Default

Goodman GMH95 Intermittent problem


@kenmac
I did some more experimenting and found that there was not enough return air flow. After that was corrected, I ran into the issue of when only one zone called for heat, the furnace started to go through it's issue of tripping. The temperature rise during only one zone calling for heat was out of range. It looks like all I have to do is adjust the fan speed and I should be good.
mattyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2010, 08:23 PM   #15
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,472
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Goodman GMH95 Intermittent problem


Curious at to what you took out and what you installed BTU and effeciency

If you took out a 100K BTU 65% Did you install a 100K BTU 95% or a 80K BTU 95%. From the pics it looks like a 100 or 125K. Not many houses that I install take a furnace that big at 95% AFUE

Just corious to see if you are over sized, if you are it could be MAJOR duct resizing or change out the furnace again.

I think you are tripping high limit

__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer

Last edited by Plumber101; 10-31-2010 at 08:26 PM.
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Goodman GMNT 80-4 problem onsetcharlie HVAC 11 01-10-2012 01:11 PM
Goodman Gas Pack Outside Fan Problem tmbenner2004 HVAC 1 10-04-2010 11:28 AM
septic problem??? jjrbus Plumbing 2 09-09-2009 10:59 PM
Stymied by window leakage problem. Matth3w General DIY Discussions 5 06-11-2008 07:26 PM
Sub is swapping Amana for Goodman Dragon HVAC 22 02-04-2007 08:54 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.