Goodman Gaspack Locksout In Middle Of Night - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-25-2013, 08:41 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 199
Rewards Points: 150
Default

goodman gaspack locksout in middle of night


Hey I am working on a Goodman GPG10300701A gas pack. This started as a no heat call, when I got to customer site the limit switch in the blower was open. Went to replace it and found the wires off. I put the wires back on the switch and restarted the unit and everything worked great. Cleaned the unit for the customer and tested everything. The next morning I get a call - not working. So I go back to site and the unit is locked out. I reset the breaker and the bottom burner was not working. I test the Outlet pressure it is 8.5 I adjust it back down to 3.5 and the bottom burner comes on and runs. (I could do it the day before because my manometer broke.) So I did a combustion test just to make sure all was ok and it was. Tell the customer no charge head on my way. The next morning I get the same call. Get to unit - it is locked out again! I have checked the fan, filters, gas valve,limit switches, and roll out. I cant tell if it is a time thing or as air temp thing. When I get there and reset the unit, it worked great but it is 65 degrees outside. When it shuts off on the customer it is 45 or so and always at night.
Any clues

Thanks for the help.

Advertisement

wetbar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 09:32 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,548
Rewards Points: 4,734
Default

goodman gaspack locksout in middle of night


Sounds like a limit switch problem.

8.5" on the manifold. What is the incoming gas pressure. Unusual to have a nat gas service that provides 10" service. At least here it is.

Advertisement

__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 10:26 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 199
Rewards Points: 150
Default

goodman gaspack locksout in middle of night


so I get here again this morning and the bottom burner is not firing. Check the gas pressure and it is 3.8. I've pulled the burners of nothing is clogged. If it was the limit switch it is a resetting switch. the roll out is manuel I have checked all three limits they seem fine.
wetbar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 10:37 AM   #4
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,122
Rewards Points: 882
Default

goodman gaspack locksout in middle of night


if it is locking out does the circuit board have a flashing led to tell you an error code?

most do and you may have to put some duct tape on the door switch so the code does not get erased when you open the door if it does not have a viewing window.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 11:02 AM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,548
Rewards Points: 4,734
Default

goodman gaspack locksout in middle of night


Quote:
Originally Posted by wetbar View Post
so I get here again this morning and the bottom burner is not firing. Check the gas pressure and it is 3.8. I've pulled the burners of nothing is clogged. If it was the limit switch it is a resetting switch. the roll out is manuel I have checked all three limits they seem fine.
Many boards will lock out after X limit trips in 1 heat call.

Is the orifice dirty. Often I clean the burners and cross overs just to be safe.

I would be checking the heat exchanger, no telling how long it was firing at 8.5"wc.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 11:11 AM   #6
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,122
Rewards Points: 882
Default

goodman gaspack locksout in middle of night


I think it is impossible to get 8.5" on the manifold. Highest I could ever get is around 4-5 with it screwed all the way down. The flame rollout would trip at that pressure and flames would fly out the front and burn wires.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 10-25-2013 at 11:13 AM.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 11:37 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 199
Rewards Points: 150
Default

goodman gaspack locksout in middle of night


Sorry double post

Last edited by wetbar; 10-25-2013 at 11:47 AM.
wetbar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 11:46 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 199
Rewards Points: 150
Default

goodman gaspack locksout in middle of night


when I back the pressure down to 3.0 all 3 burners fire if I go up or down the bottom burner cuts out. I have cleaned the whole burner assembly pulled the Spuds out and checked Spuds as well. the light only blinks one time meaning lockout it doesn't say why it was locked out.

Last edited by wetbar; 10-25-2013 at 11:50 AM.
wetbar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 12:10 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 199
Rewards Points: 150
Default

goodman gaspack locksout in middle of night


And even then it runs for 5 minutes all the burners shut down but my gas pressures stays for 1 sec or so and then it recycle.
wetbar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 02:52 PM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,548
Rewards Points: 4,734
Default

goodman gaspack locksout in middle of night


Flame sensor or pressure switch. Might want to pull the inducer, and check it vanes.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 12:02 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 205
Rewards Points: 150
Default

goodman gaspack locksout in middle of night


Check the numbers on the orifices and see if they are 43 or if they are in the 54 range. With that gas pressure it could be one that at one time had a LP conversion kit installed. I ran into that this week. The customer neglected to tell me that the unit was switched fro LP to natural. It was doing the same thing. 8" pressure at the valve and one of the burners was not firing.
Patrick Eubanks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 10:00 AM   #12
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,122
Rewards Points: 882
Default

goodman gaspack locksout in middle of night


no disrespect but, the spring inside the gas valve for the regulator controls the manifold pressure not the orifices. plus the problem would have occurred the first day they installed it that way not yrs later.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 10-26-2013 at 10:02 AM.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2013, 03:24 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 199
Rewards Points: 150
Default

goodman gaspack locksout in middle of night


Wow after three days of working on this darn thing I got it working. the reason it would work sometimes and not other is because of wind. Yes wind. . . . there is a recall all gpg10 and 12 and some 13. The inducer motor has a scoop that points down. if the wind blows hard enough, it will be pulled back in for the primary air. There is a recall kit that comes with new doors and a new scoop that points the flue out instead of down. I could not freaking believe it, but works like a champ now!
wetbar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2013, 08:50 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 205
Rewards Points: 150
Default

goodman gaspack locksout in middle of night


My point was that the orafices would tell you if the valve had been converted without a sticker. I don't know about your LP kits up north but here we change the spring and the orafices. I serviced a unit this week that was hooked up to natural gas. I installed the unit three years ago and hooked it up to LP at the time. The homeowner decided to switch to natural and failed to notify anyone. Anyway glad you got it working.

Advertisement

Patrick Eubanks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GoodMan GoodCare Service agreement ?? tom1336 HVAC 14 09-22-2012 09:02 AM
Bad Goodman Heat Pump model DSZC18 swillis HVAC 8 08-04-2012 08:33 PM
furnace blower won't turn on at night. mariamav3 HVAC 9 02-16-2012 08:54 PM
Model#PG036100-1A Goodman gaspack won't light Impala63 HVAC 21 02-22-2009 10:54 PM
Sub is swapping Amana for Goodman Dragon HVAC 22 02-04-2007 08:54 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts