Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-30-2008, 09:31 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

goodman gas furnace won't work consistently


Hey, I feel really stupid, but I hope you might be able to help. When we tried starting our goodman furnace this year, you could hear it try to start,but no air was circulating. thing is, sometimes it will come on fine.

We had a technician come out,but he only pushed the manual reset button, the unit came on and he acted like we were stupid. It ran a couple of cycles and then wouldn't come on again. He came back the next day and replaced the switch, again it ran for a bit, but still won't come on consistently, especially when it's really cold. He had told my husband that it could be the control board, or the manifold. My husband says that the flame is blue and steady when it comes on . We are going to call another technician, but I was wondering if there is anything he could check first?
thanks

2cold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2008, 10:28 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,056
Default

goodman gas furnace won't work consistently


He should call that company back, and tell them he was expecting good service.
Not a tech that just resets limits/rollouts.

If its a rollout, and its tripped again.
Could be a restriction in the flue pipe.
Good chance you have a bad heat exchanger.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bryant Furnace main burner goes out after 5 seconds Da_Bears HVAC 8 01-03-2012 01:24 AM
First Furnace Install - Need Some Help Getting Started hartkem HVAC 17 10-11-2008 11:55 AM
Furnace won't light (Goodman GMP100-3) MattJ HVAC 8 10-03-2008 09:11 AM
Heil furnace Won't work. mgbarber44 HVAC 2 11-25-2007 02:34 PM
Goodman Furnace won't work correctly. asc65 HVAC 1 11-25-2005 07:36 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.