Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-13-2010, 10:33 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cape Cod MA
Posts: 3
Share |
Question

Goodman furnace problem


My Goodman GMP075-3 furnace for the second floor of my home is acting up. Here's the pattern some of the time.
Thermostat calls for heat
Inducer fan starts- sometimes stops and tries to start again, sometimes runs and the ignitor starts lighting the burners. Will run for about 2 minutes the shuts down. Sometimes it will run for however long is necessary to satisfy the thermostat, sometimes not, and will shut down before reaching temp and then the inducer may cycle on and off not igniting the burners.
I suspect a control board problem, but sometimes the unit runs just fine.
It is in my attic I have checked the exhaust pipe and pressure switch/ no obstructions and working properly. Also tstat is AOK. Any ideas?

Thanks
ACB2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 10:41 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: palm coast fl
Posts: 588
Default

Goodman furnace problem


is the condensation draining away and not freezeing up somewhere attics are the worst possible place for a condensing furnace unless of course its heated
kennzz05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 01:57 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 440
Default

Goodman furnace problem


The gmp is a standard efficiency furnace, does not condensate. Next time it fails get the number of flashes, if any, from the circuit board diagnostic light.
SKIP4661 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 05:17 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cape Cod MA
Posts: 3
Question

Goodman furnace problem


There are no flashes from the diagnostic light. It is constantly on. I think I mentioned that it does occasionally run through the cycle without a hitch, though the most noticable problem (other than lack of heat) is when the inducer fan seems to start and stop, or fail to run properly at the beginning of the cycle. It may just tick on and off for anywhere from 1 to 5 seconds before cycle failure. But no light on the board to indicate the failure.
ACB2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 06:09 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 440
Default

Goodman furnace problem


It could be a thermostat problem. The best way to check this is to by-pass the thermostat. To do this you need to connect the white and red wires together, either at the thermostat or furnace. If when by-passed, the furnace fires and runs replace the thermostat. If it doesn't work right it could be a loose wire, high or low voltage, check the plugs and connections. It could be a board but maybe not.
SKIP4661 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to SKIP4661 For This Useful Post:
Laurie27 (11-06-2010)
Old 01-13-2010, 09:32 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cape Cod MA
Posts: 3
Question

Goodman furnace problem


Thanks. I have two of the same type t-stats (other is in use for the first floor furnace, and that works without problems) and I have swapped them with the same result. I will try the by-pass just to confirm though.
ACB2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heil Furnace Burner Problem timothyr HVAC 79 02-12-2014 07:01 PM
Goodman Furnace gas firing but shuts off digitaljim HVAC 3 12-08-2008 03:29 AM
goodman HVAC problem...only runs on AUX mode kerbear413 HVAC 1 12-02-2008 11:51 PM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 01:55 PM
goodman furnace nhicks HVAC 3 02-09-2008 06:25 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.