Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-08-2011, 03:36 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 11
Share |
Default

goodman furnace Model # gmt070-3a Serial # 0303602933


My furnace tries to fire up it fires three times and then locks up. I have tried to clean up the flame sensor rod but still the same thing. It has a 1 blink code and I need to know how to check anything else. Thank you.
wickwicky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2011, 02:21 PM   #2
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,575
Default

goodman furnace Model # gmt070-3a Serial # 0303602933


if you have Induced draft feeding the firnace thats the sma;; motor that runs to supply chamber air...there is a pressure switch 4" silver round with 2 wires going to it it might be bouncing causing the 3x lockout relite check the tube sensing the air discharge on the blower.....again this isn't the furnace supplt fan so you know.... check you grounding of the ignitor might be rusted and not making contact...do you hear a snapping when it it trying to light like your stove burner when you turn it on?
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2011, 02:35 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 11
Default

goodman furnace Model # gmt070-3a Serial # 0303602933


I don't hear any popping or whistling. The flames come on for like 5 or 10 seconds then shuts off. It does that 3 times then doesn't even try to light again. Then the light blinks saying there is a problem.
wickwicky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2011, 03:18 PM   #4
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Default

goodman furnace Model # gmt070-3a Serial # 0303602933


1- Disconnect the power
2- Connect the multimeter in serie with flame sensor ( set multimeter in DC amp)
3- restore power and call for heat
4- Read the flame current level....should be not less than .8 microamp.
5- replace frame sensor

SEE PAGE 56 SERVICE MANUAL


You already asked this.
furnace not staying lit
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.

Last edited by JJboy; 10-09-2011 at 03:44 PM.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2011, 03:35 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 11
Default

goodman furnace Model # gmt070-3a Serial # 0303602933


Thanks to all who posted. Not sure exactly what it was but after trying everything n testing I now have heat. Thank you to all.
wickwicky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Goodman Furnace GMPN100-4 ignition question jomo795 HVAC 8 11-14-2010 02:13 PM
goodman furnace sputter ttt2340 HVAC 10 11-07-2010 09:42 AM
Goodman furnace control board patz83 HVAC 7 03-14-2010 02:07 PM
Goodman furnace: won't start Guyver03 HVAC 2 10-23-2006 02:25 PM
Goodman furnace not starting cathyfc HVAC 1 10-05-2005 11:35 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.