Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-17-2011, 04:51 PM   #1
kod
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Goodman Furnace Fail


I have a gray goodman furnace. Its about 5 years old now. I noticed the problem when the vents were only blowing out cold air. I opened the furnace door and had to reset one of the limit switches. It seemed to work ok after that then a few days later it was blowing cold air again. nothing needed to be reset this time. This is what happened; the inducer motor started up and then the igniter came on and then as soon as the gas turned on the flame lit and then "poof" it went out. There was quite a bit of pressure pushing against the door of the furnace when this happened. it almost seemed like a big draft appeared a blew out the flame. After the flame was blew out the furnace started all over again. Any ideas?

kod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 05:31 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Goodman Furnace Fail


Usually if the flame actually ignites and then shuts down, the sensor needs to be cleaned or replaced

bravacv is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bravacv For This Useful Post:
KWhamm (11-18-2011)
Old 11-17-2011, 05:38 PM   #3
kod
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Goodman Furnace Fail


I will try it, but it doesn't shut down, it's like the chamber becomes pressurized for a split second and it's actually strong enough that you see the cover of the furnace bow out for a split second and thats when the flame goes out.
kod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 05:55 PM   #4
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,621
Rewards Points: 2,380
Default

Goodman Furnace Fail


your intake pipe from outside is partially blocked and it is not getting enough air for proper ignition.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 07:05 PM   #5
kod
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Goodman Furnace Fail


I took it apart from the furnace and made sure it was clear and it was. I "swabbed it" with a rag that fit tightly and when i pulled the rag out nothing came with it. I then put it back together and it still didnt work. But when i left the intake pipe off it worked....i even put a vaccum on the pipe to make sure it was clear. Any other ideas?
Thanks
kod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 07:16 PM   #6
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,621
Rewards Points: 2,380
Default

Goodman Furnace Fail


I had a weird job like that once and my other techs had similar ones. The one I had got a hamburger wrapper from BKing sucked in and would float around and partly block it from time to time. Had a wasp nest get partly blocking one once and we have had kids drop golf balls and small toys in those pipes. Partial blockage is what it sounds like to me. Do you have 2 separate pipes outside or a concentric kit where they go into one unit?

If it runs w/o the intake pipe on then it is still an issue with your intake pipe.

Concentric kit
Attached Images
 
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 11-17-2011 at 07:20 PM.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 07:23 PM   #7
kod
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Goodman Furnace Fail


I have two pipes that go outside. I was thinking that it still might be that issue with the intake but i wasnt sure if it could be something else. I will get throught the night and cut it out tomorrow and see if i can find the blockage. Thanks

kod is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Natural Gas Cost For Furnace 1 Hour Run Time hammerlane HVAC 15 11-11-2013 10:34 AM
Goodman furnace dead? jtobias HVAC 14 11-04-2011 03:34 PM
pro and con goodman furnace and ac leiut56 HVAC 8 07-24-2011 06:43 PM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 01:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.