Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-25-2009, 03:44 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 7
Share |
Default

goodman furnace/AC


Our vacation condo in Nevada will sit empty for months at a time. In the summer i keep the thermostat on cool and HOLD at 90 degrees and for the cooler months i leave the thermostat on heat and HOLD at 50 degrees. My question is... Can i trun off the main water shut off coming in to the condo and still have my Goodman furnace/AC run properly? Does water have any function whatsoever for the proper operation of a furnace/AC? Thank you.

duster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2009, 05:19 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,807
Default

goodman furnace/AC


Not for a regular forced air system.

But, if you think shutting off the water willhelp to prevent water damage.

Not really, since your pipes will still have water in them.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2009, 06:42 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 78
Default

goodman furnace/AC


Granted, a busted pipe may cause some damage, but wouldn't the damage be considerably worse if the lines were live while the premises was un-occupied?
Flashheatingand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2009, 03:47 AM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,807
Default

goodman furnace/AC


Quote:
Originally Posted by Flashheatingand View Post
Granted, a busted pipe may cause some damage, but wouldn't the damage be considerably worse if the lines were live while the premises was un-occupied?
If the shut off is in another space that is conditioned. Then yes.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2009, 01:03 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 7
Default

goodman furnace/AC


ty for the advice
duster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nordyne condenser goodman A-coil wtroger HVAC 10 09-16-2009 03:52 AM
Evaporator coil for Goodman A/C leschuler HVAC 2 09-25-2008 12:43 PM
goodman furnace nhicks HVAC 3 02-09-2008 06:25 PM
Replacing an 20 year old gas forced air with a 95% 2 stage goodman, goodman 40" tall, englewood1 HVAC 12 09-25-2007 11:37 PM
Sub is swapping Amana for Goodman Dragon HVAC 22 02-04-2007 07:54 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.