Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-25-2013, 06:10 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Goodman dual unit


Is changing the balancing point something easy to do? I rent a home that had a new Goodman Dual unit put in feb 2012. I filled up a 100 gallon tank then. That lasted until December 16th 2012. From my understanding that heat pump will be on until it drops below 40 degrees and then the propane will kick on. I checked my gas on MOnday and had 30% checked today and only had 5%. I filled the tank up again on the dec 16th for $320, and called today and it was going to be $480. So basically I have a power bill of $150-$175 and a high gas bill that last a little over a month. I am thinking if I put the balance point to 25-30 that would decrease the gas bill, and it wouldn't cost me as much every month with the power and gas. Also if I run out of gas can I still use the unit just with the electric?

mandyseghs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 06:21 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 458
Rewards Points: 276
Default

Goodman dual unit


Wow. Seems to me like electric backup heat would have been the way to go, propane isnt cheap.
Which thermostat, controls does the unit have?

sammy37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 07:19 PM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,632
Rewards Points: 2,944
Default

Goodman dual unit


Most thermostats will allow you to set the balance point much lower.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amana ASX14 vs Goodman SSX14 photosaver99 HVAC 11 10-09-2012 07:48 PM
Newly installed AC unit not working skye24F HVAC 10 09-29-2012 06:08 PM
4 ton 13 seer goodman A/C & gas furnace unit Laurence Foster HVAC 8 06-10-2010 08:11 AM
Goodman GMPN100-4 oneam HVAC 16 02-28-2010 03:58 AM
goodman HVAC problem...only runs on AUX mode kerbear413 HVAC 1 12-02-2008 11:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.