Goodman With Copeland Scroll Compressor - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-17-2011, 10:53 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Goodman with copeland scroll compressor

About two weeks ago my split system Goodman r-22 14 seer 3.5 ton outside unit started tripping the breaker. It is a 30amp sq-d and has been running it for now about 5 years. I am an industrial electrician and have been in the trade for 17 years. So I checked the the breaker with the clamp on I keep around the house. I did not realize it do not measure peak until that moment. The LRC on my unit is 88 amps and the run amps is around 14. When it would start i saw around 85-91 amps. Then it would drop to about 12.3 amps. Breaker may be a little weak so I thought. Swapped it with another 30 amp in the panel and everything seemed to be fine for the next 5 days. Then I notice while I was out side that the unit sounded like it was trying start and then quitting and few seconds later it would do it again. Then finally after 3 attempts it started. I then checked the contactor and everything looked great there and also the fan was running the whole time. So thought maybe the capacitor was bad even though I did not see anything to give me that idea. So I turned the power off checked the cap by charging it up and discharging it with my ohm meter. Seemed to work ok and yes I know it could open under a load. However I got my peak amp meter by this time from work and I was seeing amps 140-160 on start up. I borrowed a kick start from a friend just to see if it would help. Put it in the circuit and it did seemed to help but at times it still clicked several times before starting. I came to the conclusion based on the current that the internal overload is opening and that is why it is clicking several times before starting. Figured it must have a mechanical problem. So I started worki