Goodman Condenser - HVAC - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-26-2014, 02:44 PM   #16
HVAC Tech/Owner
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: VA
Posts: 513
Rewards Points: 350
Default

Goodman Condenser


Quote:
Originally Posted by CWO4GUNNER View Post
Well if you have any kind of basic tool skills you could buy the EPA tutorial guide just a few pages of questions with all the answers for the memory test. After about 4 hours of study you could pay the proctor at the local community college to give you the test. I passed all sections with 96% and got my universal certification. Then just research procedures on how to install the outside unit to the existing lineset , connect, vacuum, and open the system charge all on YouTube. With just the outside unit to install it will be easier then installing an entire mini-split. The contractors are butting at the bits for that 2 hour/2K job!

BS

1. To do it right takes longer than 2 hours.
2. Obviously you have no idea how much a 2spd communicating condenser costs.

Advertisement

Technow is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2014, 03:11 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Arizona
Posts: 203
Rewards Points: 197
Default

Goodman Condenser


Quote:
Originally Posted by Technow View Post
BS

1. To do it right takes longer than 2 hours.
2. Obviously you have no idea how much a 2spd communicating condenser costs.

I was strictly talking about the labor cost 2 man/ 2-hours, although I know it will take them about a day.
CWO4GUNNER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2014, 03:14 PM   #18
HVAC Tech/Owner
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: VA
Posts: 513
Rewards Points: 350
Default

Goodman Condenser


Quote:
Originally Posted by CWO4GUNNER View Post
I was strictly talking about the labor cost 2 man/ 2-hours, although I know it will take them about a day.
How do you know that....you look at the job?

Is the lineset there? or need to be installed? Previous bubbas just put a furnace and coil in.
Technow is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2014, 03:30 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Arizona
Posts: 203
Rewards Points: 197
Default

Goodman Condenser


Quote:
Originally Posted by Technow View Post
How do you know that....you look at the job?

Is the lineset there? or need to be installed? Previous bubbas just put a furnace and coil in.
Well yeah if they have to run the lines and controls that will really make a day of it with wit 2 pro's. But Id still DIY if it were me. To me the hardest part is getting that inside unit in the attic, the rest is all down hill. Actually in a few more years with my 9 and 13 seer Goodman compressors start to fail Ill be facing that dilemma. Why Im leaning everything I can about mini-split "ductless" systems.
CWO4GUNNER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2014, 08:50 PM   #20
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,526
Rewards Points: 4,690
Default

Goodman Condenser


Quote:
Originally Posted by CWO4GUNNER View Post
Well if you have any kind of basic tool skills you could buy the EPA tutorial guide just a few pages of questions with all the answers for the memory test. After about 4 hours of study you could pay the proctor at the local community college to give you the test. I passed all sections with 96% and got my universal certification. Then just research procedures on how to install the outside unit to the existing lineset , connect, vacuum, and open the system charge all on YouTube. With just the outside unit to install it will be easier then installing an entire mini-split. The contractors are butting at the bits for that 2 hour/2K job!
Carrier won't sell a 2 stage communicating condenser to the home owner.

Using any other brand beside Carrier or Bryant, won't give the OP all the benefits they paid for when they got the Infinity furnace and control.

Don't forget. The mark up the contractor does, also includes 1 year of labor warranty.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2014, 09:46 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Arizona
Posts: 203
Rewards Points: 197
Default

Goodman Condenser


Well they might find one "new old stock" and on Ebay and still get the warranty. If so they should research local licensed handyman certified in residential AC with references and save about 1/2 on installation.
CWO4GUNNER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2014, 10:01 PM   #22
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,526
Rewards Points: 4,690
Default

Goodman Condenser


Quote:
Originally Posted by CWO4GUNNER View Post
Well they might find one "new old stock" and on Ebay and still get the warranty. If so they should research local licensed handyman certified in residential AC with references and save about 1/2 on installation.
Won't get a warranty. Carrier knows what distributor was sold what condenser. The paper trail will show it was sold to a HO, not a dealer.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2014, 10:12 PM   #23
HVAC Tech/Owner
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: VA
Posts: 513
Rewards Points: 350
Default

Goodman Condenser


Quote:
Originally Posted by CWO4GUNNER View Post
Well they might find one "new old stock" and on Ebay and still get the warranty. If so they should research local licensed handyman certified in residential AC with references and save about 1/2 on installation.
Yeah, thats who I would want to install a 2 stage infinity system.
Technow is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2014, 10:31 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Arizona
Posts: 203
Rewards Points: 197
Default

Goodman Condenser


Hay come-on. I new a guy in class who was 68 years old electrician handyman and retired general contractor. Shure the guy had burnt out face and had bad days, but he took to learning fast, got his certification and has been installing packaged units like crazy. I have met a few of these AC handymen at the HVAC warehouse and most all really well respected folks that do good work for a lot less.
CWO4GUNNER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 05:55 AM   #25
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,526
Rewards Points: 4,690
Default

Goodman Condenser


Quote:
Originally Posted by CWO4GUNNER View Post
Hay come-on. I new a guy in class who was 68 years old electrician handyman and retired general contractor. Shure the guy had burnt out face and had bad days, but he took to learning fast, got his certification and has been installing packaged units like crazy. I have met a few of these AC handymen at the HVAC warehouse and most all really well respected folks that do good work for a lot less.
A packaged unit is not in the same class as a 2 stage condenser(thats almost like comparing a riding mower to a car). Most residential package units, are simple swap outs that involve just a few low voltage connections, 3 line voltage wires. and 2 duct connections.

If the OP wants the cull ability of what they already paid for. They will need to bite the bullet and get a Carrier/Bryant communicating 2 stage condenser. And use a Carrier dealer.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 09:06 AM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Arizona
Posts: 203
Rewards Points: 197
Default

Goodman Condenser


Similar thing happened to friend buying an old home in Frsno, wanted to save a few bucks not get a home inspection/ warranty. The roof packaged unit (Carrier) was shot with leaks and over charged to keep working till escrow closed, now needs to come up with 7k to replace it. Packaged unit may be simpler to connect, but that simplicity is made up for risking your life in high rise performance, one slip and its game over man.
CWO4GUNNER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 12:14 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 492
Rewards Points: 344
Default

Goodman Condenser


Quote:
Originally Posted by CWO4GUNNER View Post
Similar thing happened to friend buying an old home in Frsno, wanted to save a few bucks not get a home inspection/ warranty. The roof packaged unit (Carrier) was shot with leaks and over charged to keep working till escrow closed, now needs to come up with 7k to replace it. Packaged unit may be simpler to connect, but that simplicity is made up for risking your life in high rise performance, one slip and its game over man.
You guys are a bunch of chickens! I dont know why everyone is afraid to climb around on high rooftops. I guess I've been doing for so many years, that it doesnt bother me.
7K for a residential rooftop unit is borderline ripoff, for a basic unit. The nice thing about Fresno that you dont see in Vegas or Phoenix, is that the code requires units to have a catwalk with a railing around it, if the roof is above a certain pitch.
sammy37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 12:19 PM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 492
Rewards Points: 344
Default

Goodman Condenser


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
A packaged unit is not in the same class as a 2 stage condenser(thats almost like comparing a riding mower to a car). Most residential package units, are simple swap outs that involve just a few low voltage connections, 3 line voltage wires. and 2 duct connections.

If the OP wants the cull ability of what they already paid for. They will need to bite the bullet and get a Carrier/Bryant communicating 2 stage condenser. And use a Carrier dealer.
I do have to protest just a little. Yes packaged units are definitely easier to change out but there is still some brain work involved when it comes to the final install and how the ducts are connected. You've seen many a photo of some bad installs.
The funnest part of a changeout for me, is not installing the unit but measuring and designing everything to give to the metal shop and having it all fit nice and look great when the job is finished.
sammy37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 01:17 PM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Arizona
Posts: 203
Rewards Points: 197
Default

Goodman Condenser


Quote:
Originally Posted by sammy37 View Post
I do have to protest just a little. Yes packaged units are definitely easier to change out but there is still some brain work involved when it comes to the final install and how the ducts are connected. You've seen many a photo of some bad installs.
The funnest part of a changeout for me, is not installing the unit but measuring and designing everything to give to the metal shop and having it all fit nice and look great when the job is finished.
I guess Ill chime in with some honest admission on the local practices in our area with regard to packaged systems. While we all know they can be a special rooftop challange for the reasons you mentioned on traditional single family homes. There are allot of single and double-wide community structures, older homes and renovated garages that simply raise and install the unit into the side of the wall near the roof line or worst yet just sitting on the concrete driveway slab blowing conditioned air strait into the living room through a made opening with no ducting whatsoever. Now that's an easy install. Sort of like a window AC on steroids. Handymen do a lot of those down here at cut rate prices, both he and everybody wins.
CWO4GUNNER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 04:16 PM   #30
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,526
Rewards Points: 4,690
Default

Goodman Condenser


Quote:
Originally Posted by sammy37 View Post
I do have to protest just a little. Yes packaged units are definitely easier to change out but there is still some brain work involved when it comes to the final install and how the ducts are connected. You've seen many a photo of some bad installs.
The funnest part of a changeout for me, is not installing the unit but measuring and designing everything to give to the metal shop and having it all fit nice and look great when the job is finished.
Some do take some measuring to get them installed right, and looking proper.

See post 29, for the reason that I said it can't be compared to a 2 stage condenser.

Advertisement

__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Goodman 3 ton condenser (ssx160361ab) with Goodman (CAPF4860C6) 4 - 5 ton coil ? adaddo HVAC 3 08-01-2013 11:40 PM
Nordyne A coil, Goodman condenser. Want to install TXV. rdhill HVAC 2 04-26-2011 10:12 PM
Goodman Fan Condenser Replacement Help bigjohnstud4200 HVAC 2 07-03-2010 02:54 PM
Nordyne condenser goodman A-coil wtroger HVAC 10 09-16-2009 04:52 AM
Replacing a Condenser Fan Motor (Goodman) guddug HVAC 8 07-03-2008 11:11 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts