Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-30-2011, 02:56 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

Goodman CK36-1T a/c that's missing a piece!!


Hi,
The previous homeowner purchased this mobile home that was supposed to have central air. They brought the unit out and set it on the ground, then when the serviceman came to hook up, he said something was missing. The previous owner doesn't know what's missing, but I have a sneaking suspicion that it goes in the pictured spot. Can anyone tell me what's missing and if I should try to replace it or just sell the unit for scrap?

Thanks,
Attached Images
 

1horsefarm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 03:08 PM   #2
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Default

Goodman CK36-1T a/c that's missing a piece!!


Contactor

__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 03:28 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5
Default

Goodman CK36-1T a/c that's missing a piece!!


Contactors aren't very expensive, but a missing contactor could indicate a very old unit. I have had a hard time finding info on the internet for CK36-1T and can't even find listings on the internet part stores. The unit hasn't even been hooked into the house yet, so I would have to have that done. The only info I see about the models is that they are junk after 5 years. Is that true?

The unit has also been sitting there unused for approx. 5 years. Is that non-use damaging?

I think my mom has a fairly reliable service company, but I would like to know what I would be in for before they come out...just to keep them honest, of course. What can you advise?
1horsefarm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 03:35 PM   #4
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Default

Goodman CK36-1T a/c that's missing a piece!!


Can you post a bigger image?
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 04:33 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5
Default

Goodman CK36-1T a/c that's missing a piece!!


Will this work?
Attached Thumbnails
Goodman CK36-1T a/c that's missing a piece!!-ac-1.jpg   Goodman CK36-1T a/c that's missing a piece!!-ac-2.jpg  
1horsefarm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 05:48 PM   #6
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Default

Goodman CK36-1T a/c that's missing a piece!!


I hope whoever uninstall the condenser closed the services valves. Leaving the linesets open is not good. Dirt, moisture can damange the compressor and cause corrosion on the coil.
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 06:42 PM   #7
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,011
Default

Goodman CK36-1T a/c that's missing a piece!!


Looks like scrap metal to me. It will cost more in $$ to hookup than it is worth. Only to find that the compressor is seized or burnt out. Basic builders grade unit so they were built for a certain price point. The new Goodmans are a lot better as they are 1/2 Amana.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 10:29 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 135
Default

Goodman CK36-1T a/c that's missing a piece!!


10/4 I agree with Yuri,
don't sink any good money into this junk.
Artco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2011, 09:29 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5
Default

Goodman CK36-1T a/c that's missing a piece!!


Thanks, do you think I could get more money if I separated out the aluminum and copper or would it be the same to just take the unit in as is?
1horsefarm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2011, 09:51 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 135
Default

Goodman CK36-1T a/c that's missing a piece!!


Take it as it is. (not worth the time to bother ripping apart)
Artco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2011, 09:59 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5
Default

Goodman CK36-1T a/c that's missing a piece!!


Thanks, I guess I'll use the few dollars as seed money to start my new a/c fund!!!

1horsefarm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
$1440+ labor only repair on 3 yr. old Goodman unit!?! JMK HVAC 23 05-06-2012 10:45 AM
Lots of cold air coming from missing piece of sill ccathy247 Building & Construction 4 12-18-2010 08:15 AM
Caulk underneath sink drain/plate? doogie88 Plumbing 14 04-16-2009 07:18 AM
Sub is swapping Amana for Goodman Dragon HVAC 22 02-04-2007 07:54 AM
Goodman Air Handler with Missing Parts cougarhsv HVAC 2 01-17-2007 08:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.