Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-04-2010, 08:30 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 21
Share |
Default

Goodman CK36-18 problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
yeeaahhhhh...
Lol,it's true! I also have an associates degree in electronics but I guess I'm not very good with ac circuits.

j66996 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010, 08:51 PM   #17
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Goodman CK36-18 problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by j66996 View Post
Lol,it's true! I also have an associates degree in electronics but I guess I'm not very good with ac circuits.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010, 08:52 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 21
Default

Goodman CK36-18 problem


Lol, no not him!!
j66996 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 04:08 AM   #19
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,501
Default

Goodman CK36-18 problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
Assuming a loss of a common he would have got 24 on only one side if he checked it the way you you describe.
No. He would still be able to read to ground on both sides of the contactors coil, since the coil is good.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 04:09 AM   #20
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,501
Default

Goodman CK36-18 problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by j66996 View Post
Hi beenthere,

You are correct...I was measuring to ground. I get 0v when I measure across the coil. Where do I go from here?
Loose low voltage wire in the air handler, broken wire between the condenser and air handler, etc.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
j66996 (09-05-2010)
Old 09-05-2010, 05:25 AM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 21
Default

Goodman CK36-18 problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Loose low voltage wire in the air handler, broken wire between the condenser and air handler, etc.

Thank you beenthere...I will check those things.
j66996 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 10:14 AM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 21
Default

Goodman CK36-18 problem


Thank you thank you thank you!!!!!!!! You guys are the best! It looks like a squirrel chewed the wire where it enters the attic. I replaced the wire and am sitting in coolness! I really really really appreciate all your help and patience! Thank you!

Tammi
j66996 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 10:59 AM   #23
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,501
Default

Goodman CK36-18 problem


Congrats, and stay cool.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
j66996 (09-05-2010)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
$1440+ labor only repair on 3 yr. old Goodman unit!?! JMK HVAC 23 05-06-2012 10:45 AM
Weed problem, bug problem, or both? hayzen Landscaping & Lawn Care 1 08-25-2009 06:33 PM
Goodman Gas furnace, A/C will not run new install RCApp HVAC 5 08-04-2009 09:00 PM
Stymied by window leakage problem. Matth3w General DIY Discussions 5 06-11-2008 06:26 PM
Post-Tension Slab Problem Advice/Help Mike McBride Building & Construction 2 01-09-2007 01:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.