Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-04-2010, 02:23 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 21
Share |
Default

Goodman CK36-18 problem


My AC worked great all summer and quit cooling the other day. The compressor isn't coming on and the fan isn't turning. I have 24 volts on each side of the contactor coil (new) and I replaced the capacitor. When I close the contacts manually, the compressor comes on. Any ideas on why the contactor contacts aren't being pulled closed? Thanks!

j66996 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010, 03:46 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,937
Default

Goodman CK36-18 problem


Contactors can be finicky if you twist them or stress them. Plunger can stick. If the high voltage wires are tight and the body of it is under torque it can stick. Try loosen them and start over. Your furnace transformer may be weak or you have loose/corroded wiring connections somewhere. You can have 24 volts but a poor connection can prevent current flow.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010, 05:08 PM   #3
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Goodman CK36-18 problem


Gotta agree...

If you have a solid 24volts at the contactor than either the new contractor is bad or you have a transformer or wiring problem.

There are no other safetys in the 24 volt circuit (i.e. low press cut out in case of freon loss) unless they have been field added.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010, 05:52 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 21
Default

Goodman CK36-18 problem


Thanks Yuri,

I took the contactor off and replaced it gently, making sure I didn't distort it. I also removed the 24v wires and cut and restripped them and didn't notice any corrosion. It still won't start up unless I manually close the contacts.
j66996 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010, 05:58 PM   #5
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Goodman CK36-18 problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by j66996 View Post
Thanks Yuri,

I took the contactor off and replaced it gently, making sure I didn't distort it. I also removed the 24v wires and cut and restripped them and didn't notice any corrosion. It still won't start up unless I manually close the contacts.
Then you have a prob with wiring from the furnace or a bad transformer.
The contactor could also be partially shorted and not have enough strength to pull in. In that case you would still read good voltage but still not work.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hvaclover For This Useful Post:
j66996 (09-05-2010)
Old 09-04-2010, 06:06 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 21
Default

Goodman CK36-18 problem


Thanks hvaclover! I'll have to crawl up in the attic and check the transformer and wiring. I just received the contactor via ups yesterday so I hope it's not bad. The ac ran fine last year too until August and then died. I just left it alone and this Spring when it started to get warm I flipped the switch and it worked all Summer long until now.
j66996 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010, 07:14 PM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,415
Default

Goodman CK36-18 problem


If you have 24 volts on both sides of the contactor. Your not checking for voltage correctly. You don't check from the contractor to ground, or common. You check from one terminal to the other..

You probably lost the common somewhere.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010, 07:22 PM   #8
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Goodman CK36-18 problem


OP if you did as Beenthere says, then you checked the voltage incorrectly.

I made allowances for you not knowing HVAC terminology.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010, 07:26 PM   #9
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Goodman CK36-18 problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
If you have 24 volts on both sides of the contactor. Your not checking for voltage correctly. You don't check from the contractor to ground, or common. You check from one terminal to the other..

You probably lost the common somewhere.

Assuming a loss of a common he would have got 24 on only one side if he checked it the way you you describe.

This should read 24volts on both sides. don't know where my mind is today.

Thanks for the correction Yuri.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.

Last edited by hvaclover; 09-04-2010 at 08:09 PM.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010, 07:29 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 21
Default

Goodman CK36-18 problem


Hi beenthere,

You are correct...I was measuring to ground. I get 0v when I measure across the coil. Where do I go from here?
j66996 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010, 07:36 PM   #11
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,937
Default

Goodman CK36-18 problem


Then you have lost the return or common (C) wire from the outdoor unit back to the furnace. Check the wiring where it leaves the house to the unit. Got damaged/got chewed by rodents/dog/wheedwacker.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
j66996 (09-05-2010)
Old 09-04-2010, 08:01 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 21
Default

Goodman CK36-18 problem


Thanks guys! I'll check it in the morning!

Tammi
j66996 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010, 08:17 PM   #13
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Goodman CK36-18 problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by j66996 View Post
Thanks guys! I'll check it in the morning!

Tammi
just out of curiosity, why did you use the particular terminology you did to describe the problem?

After taking a second look at the thread your description of problem is filled with terms a pro tech might use[IMG]file:///C:/DOCUME%7E1/John/LOCALS%7E1/Temp/moz-screenshot.png[/IMG]
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010, 08:22 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 21
Default

Goodman CK36-18 problem


I do some electrical work on city busses on occassion and I have read a lot here on the internet trying to diagnose this problem.
j66996 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010, 08:27 PM   #15
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Goodman CK36-18 problem


yeeaahhhhh...

__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
$1440+ labor only repair on 3 yr. old Goodman unit!?! JMK HVAC 23 05-06-2012 10:45 AM
Weed problem, bug problem, or both? hayzen Landscaping & Lawn Care 1 08-25-2009 06:33 PM
Goodman Gas furnace, A/C will not run new install RCApp HVAC 5 08-04-2009 09:00 PM
Stymied by window leakage problem. Matth3w General DIY Discussions 5 06-11-2008 06:26 PM
Post-Tension Slab Problem Advice/Help Mike McBride Building & Construction 2 01-09-2007 01:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.