Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-22-2012, 04:37 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Goodman CK36-18 problem


Hi guys,

I have a Goodman CK36-18 AC that was working fine until this afternoon. The outside unit appears to be working properly but the blower inside that pulls the indoor air through the filter is not working. Any thoughts of what I should check? Thank you

j66996 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 05:28 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Augusta, GA
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Goodman CK36-18 problem


Are you sure the fan isn't working, or is it just iced up? A freeze up can cause complete blockage of the duct system, which results in no air flow.

If you can get to the air handler, take the panels off to see if the blower is running (be sure the tstat is set to call for cooling, or just turn the Fan switch to ON). Be careful in the air handler - there's high voltage and moving parts, so don't poke around in there.

If the blower is running, then do you see any ice? If so, turn the system to OFF, and the fan to ON, and leave it that way for a few hours. If the filter is dirty, change that.

Otherwise, you'll need to call someone out to diagnose the issue.

scottmcd9999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 06:05 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Goodman CK36-18 problem


Thanks Scott,

The fan's not running and there is no ice. I guess that narrows it down to the fan or circuit board then, right?
j66996 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 06:30 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Augusta, GA
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Goodman CK36-18 problem


In most cases, yes - the fan or the fan control board/relay is bad. I've seen thermostats do this too. To eliminate that, jump R to G at the thermostat. If the fan comes on then, your stat is bad. If not, then I'd bet either fan/capacitor or board.
scottmcd9999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 06:21 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Goodman CK36-18 problem


The Cap is supposed to be 12.5uf and is reading almost 0. I'll replace it and keep my fingers crossed! Thanks again!
j66996 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 06:37 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Goodman CK36-18 problem


The cap fixed it...thank you for all your help!!

j66996 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
goodman gmpn100 venter problem lucydisguised HVAC 8 02-17-2011 07:37 PM
Septic problem or vent problem? wilsonstark Plumbing 9 01-17-2011 07:35 PM
Help Carrier, Briant Furnance with Variable motor problem ahenderson HVAC 1 12-19-2010 01:07 PM
Stymied by window leakage problem. Matth3w General DIY Discussions 5 06-11-2008 07:26 PM
Post-Tension Slab Problem Advice/Help Mike McBride Building & Construction 2 01-09-2007 02:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.