Goodman Circuit Board B1809913 - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-29-2009, 12:24 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Goodman Circuit board B1809913


Hi this is the second time that my circuit board when bad. Last time it was 2yrs into the life of the unit. That was in 2004 and now it's 2009 and after a bad thunderstorm that trip a few breakers in my house, it is once again dead. I tried to do some diagnostics and decided to call in a professional HVAC guy. He confirms to me that the circuit board is toast. He can make the blower, etc work by bypassing. So now he has to order a new board. Just wondering if anyone has this type of bad luck. Is there something else broken that is causing the board to die after x amount of years. I'm a electrical engineer by trade and this is very disturbing as most engineers would tend to agree in HVAC should virtually last forever. My parents house is 15yrs old and has never has this problem.

Any thoughts from anyone?

Advertisement

tilphan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2009, 12:41 AM   #2
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Goodman Circuit board B1809913


are you having some type of power problems at the unit ?? The solder connections have been a problem in the past..I have talked to several reps with honeywell & they told me that when they checked several bad boards that they found cracked solder connections... I thought they had corrected the problems... It is my understanding most of the boards come from south of the U.S.

Advertisement

kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2009, 08:13 AM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,425
Rewards Points: 4,496
Default

Goodman Circuit board B1809913


The electrical storm caused some breakers to trip?

Then you robably got a surge to it.

Electonic boards are NOT built to last forever in HVAC.
Mostly because people wouldn't pay the price for the equipment then.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2009, 10:37 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Goodman Circuit board B1809913


Thanks guys...well what happen is I had 3 breaker tripped. But not to the HVAC. The other strange thing is I have 2 units. Both of them were in the off position. This one unit died. It's just strange to me that the same unit keeps going out when the other one is just fine for the last few years.

I agree with the surge. It's just bad luck I guess.
tilphan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2009, 11:50 AM   #5
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,062
Rewards Points: 762
Default

Goodman Circuit board B1809913


10 yrs is the average life of a circuit board. In a furnace there is vibration and heat and the relays usually fail from use after 10 yrs. Goodman had some problems with the grounding of their boards. If it is on a metal bracket attached to the fan make sure it is tight and put more screws into the bracket if necessary.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2009, 12:08 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Goodman Circuit board B1809913


Yuri- thanks..will add screws once the new board arrives tomorrow.
tilphan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2009, 12:41 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: palm coast fl
Posts: 588
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Goodman Circuit board B1809913


i have to comment on the statement about hvac lasting for ever, thats a rather funny statement as if they did this forum wouldnt exsist (it also has the highest number of viewers usually) and none of us would have jobs in the field so um... yea last forever im not seeing that. just my 2 cents
kennzz05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2009, 09:17 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Goodman Circuit board B1809913


Quote:
Originally Posted by tilphan View Post
this is the second time that my circuit board when bad.
Last time it was 2yrs into the life of the unit.
after a bad thunderstorm that trip a few breakers in my house, it is once again dead.

He confirms to me that the circuit board is toast.
Doing an autopsy on the board will tell you what failed first.


Is there something else broken that is causing the board to die after x amount of years.
There is infant mortality (due to factory defects), there is normal random wearout, and then there is end of life wearout.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bathtub_curve

I'm a electrical engineer by trade
My parents house is 15yrs old and has never has this problem.
Put a fuse in series with an MOV [or back to back Zeners] which you should put across the board input.

If you're in Florida you may require extraordinary surge protection.

Last edited by Yoyizit; 03-31-2009 at 09:21 AM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 02:50 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Goodman Circuit board B1809913


have an electrician install a block surge supressor in line. that may help ,i put them on as part of my standard installs seems to help i've used them on some commercial stuff i work on that was loosing boards and haven't lost one in about 3 years
jnichols is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 12:24 AM   #10
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Goodman Circuit board B1809913


During high electrical weather events the static surge transmitted/conducted

thru the air has been known to take out electronics.

15 years with out a repair on an HVAC system is an exception to the rule.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2009, 12:44 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Goodman Circuit board B1809913


Well a technician came to change out the circuit board and we tried the AC because it was hot that day. Everythng worked anh he checked the freon level also. It was stupid of me to not also check the heater. I live in Texas and the weather is as wacky as this Goodman unit. :-). One day cold and one day hot. Anyways, it has gotten cold and will get cold. Today I turned on the heat and it doesn't work. Doesn't work mean, the ignitor comes on but the gas doesn't spray and ignite the unit. Ignitor is red as hell. I checked the gas and it's fine. Is there something on the circuit board that the tech forgot to connect ?
tilphan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2009, 01:03 PM   #12
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,425
Rewards Points: 4,496
Default

Goodman Circuit board B1809913


Probably an open roll out switch.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2009, 01:05 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Goodman Circuit board B1809913


Beenthere..what does that mean? Is it a connection issue or component issue?
tilphan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2009, 01:08 PM   #14
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,425
Rewards Points: 4,496
Default

Goodman Circuit board B1809913


Component.

Look for small sensors near the burners. See if any of them are tripped.

Might also be one on the blower housing also.

If any are tripped. You got more trouble then what you though.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2009, 01:17 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Goodman Circuit board B1809913


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Probably an open roll out switch.
Furnaces, 101

"The limit control is a safety device that will open the electrical circuit to the ignition control and stop the gas flow if the furnace over heats. The flame roll out switch does the same thing if the flame was rolling out of the heat exchanger instead of being completely induced into it by the draft inducer."

I never heard of the thing.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Furnace
http://images.google.com/images?hl=e...mages&aq=f&oq=
Thanks, Mr. There. . .

Advertisement


Last edited by Yoyizit; 04-06-2009 at 01:25 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Goodman Circuit Board Shot - Can I Jury Rig Fan? ChrisInAtlanta HVAC 2 08-03-2008 03:54 PM
cord to my heating pad got ripped out from its circuit board..any help? flashme18 Electrical 8 07-09-2008 11:28 PM
Inducer fan assembly or inducer control circuit board failing realblonde94526 HVAC 3 05-12-2008 08:28 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts