Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-10-2013, 07:36 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3
Share |
Unhappy

Goodman A/C doesn't turn on


Hi, I recently bought a new house and my second week in one of my two Goodman gsx130241 units does not start. I scoured Google and checked to see if there are any quick checks and fixes before I call for service.

When I set the thermostat on nothing happens. I went outside to check if there is a clicking noise and I didn't hear anything. I compared it to the functional unit and I heard everything kick off instantaneously. I then checked to see if it was the thermostat by replacing batteries and also manually combining the red and green wires then flipping the breaker on and nothing happened.

What's my next move here?

Thanks

ielkind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 07:50 AM   #2
Member
 
PoleCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 1,333
Default

Goodman A/C doesn't turn on


Verify you have 240V at the line side of the contactor?

__________________
"Ask me anything. If I don't know the answer I'll make something up."
PoleCat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 07:59 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,610
Default

Goodman A/C doesn't turn on


Did you check the breaker to see if it's off?
There may be two different two pole breakers.
Also look on the outside of the house for a disconnect. Open the cover to see if the disconnect is in place and right side up.
http://www.amazon.com/Siemens-WN2060...d_sim_sbs_hi_1
The bar to disconnect it can be removed so the unit can be service and flipped over and put back in so it does not get lost.
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 12:40 PM   #4
Experienced HVAC Tech
 
HVAC1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 357
Default

Goodman A/C doesn't turn on


R and G wires are just to control the fan at the air handler/furnace. You need to also put the Y wire (and possibly B wire also (if heat pump)) before you can even start the troubleshooting. Of course the outdoor unit won't turn on if u don't give it a signal to
HVAC1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 03:16 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3
Default

Goodman A/C doesn't turn on


The air blower is working when I turn the fan to on. I checked the disconnect and made sure it was snug (it was) (and right side up) and I checked and retested the moisture check on the blower. Still no go. I don't have a meter to check the voltage.
ielkind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2013, 01:53 AM   #6
Experienced HVAC Tech
 
HVAC1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 357
Default

Goodman A/C doesn't turn on


Quote:
Originally Posted by ielkind
The air blower is working when I turn the fan to on. I checked the disconnect and made sure it was snug (it was) (and right side up) and I checked and retested the moisture check on the blower. Still no go. I don't have a meter to check the voltage.
Go buy a meter then check if u are getting 24 volts (its only 24vac dont be scared) at the contractor in the outdoor unit. Then report back. There are a few more things to check next
HVAC1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2013, 06:28 AM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Goodman A/C doesn't turn on


Check your AHU drain pan and make sure that it's not full of water.
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 12:48 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3
Default

Goodman A/C doesn't turn on


I called a technician and he found out there was a short in the compressor. At least it didn't cost me an arm and a leg!
ielkind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 10:10 PM   #9
Experienced HVAC Tech
 
HVAC1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 357
Default

Goodman A/C doesn't turn on


Quote:
Originally Posted by ielkind
I called a technician and he found out there was a short in the compressor. At least it didn't cost me an arm and a leg!
Ya now your new compressor or new condenser once installed will only cost you an arm
HVAC1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 10:11 PM   #10
Experienced HVAC Tech
 
HVAC1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 357
Default

Goodman A/C doesn't turn on


Sorry double posted it

HVAC1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bad home wiring? Turn off light-internet drops or motion light turns on drewryjams Electrical 2 07-30-2012 03:55 PM
Jacuzzi won't turn off hand_in_ga Electrical 3 06-17-2012 07:23 PM
Help with a faucet that won't turn on\off OhmZoned Plumbing 1 06-17-2012 09:05 AM
Cant turn shower nob to turn on shower GeoffStone Plumbing 5 04-25-2012 08:09 AM
Faucet won't turn off etiger Plumbing 1 08-31-2005 02:46 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.