Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-04-2009, 11:24 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Exclamation

Goodman Blower Motor Always On


My issue started last night, my wife noticed only cold air was coming out of the registers. I turned the furnace off at the thermostat (set to Auto, and Off, 50 degrees), but the blower wouldn't stop running. To turn it off, I used the switch in the utility closet.

We had the blower replaced a couple months back (something with the bearings) and before the tech left, he said the hot surface igniter was getting old. I replaced the igniter this morning, but after finishing up and turning the unit on in the closet, the blower motor came on right away (thermostat still Off) and no ignition.

I think there's normally a clicking or something before ignition, there was nothing like that.

One last point, I noticed something blinking through the "peep hole" located on the bottom access panel when first looking at the unit, I haven't noticed anything blinking since (though I can't confirm either way without checking again).

My model # is GMP100-5 Rev8

Any help is much appreciated, thanks!

skalapeno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2009, 12:18 PM   #2
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Goodman Blower Motor Always On


blower relay on the board may be stuck. Turn on the heat & let it run through a cycle & see if it turns off after the cycle

kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2009, 12:21 PM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,554
Rewards Points: 2,788
Default

Goodman Blower Motor Always On


Probably tripped on high limit.
When did you change your air filter last.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2009, 02:31 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Goodman Blower Motor Always On


Thanks for your replies.

I have left the unit running, but it doesn't seem to do anything but run the blower...how long should a cycle last?

We installed a 3-month at the beginning of January, another before that in October. In October--if this means anything--we had a crew come clean all the ducts and they did work cleaning the furnace as well.
skalapeno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2009, 03:36 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Goodman Blower Motor Always On


An update...

I went home and checked for the limit and found what appears to be 3 of the limit switches (disc-like with wires coming in one side, out the other) in sequence on my unit. A wire comes from below (assuming the control board) through a switch on the left side, top, right side of the combustion area and then on to the gas control switch.

I tried the little reset button that's located between the wires on each switch, but no luck. I also replaced my 3 month filter with a blue fiberglass one.

No luck, with or without the thermostat set, when turning it on in the closet, the blower turns on right away and nothing else happens.
skalapeno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2009, 03:53 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,554
Rewards Points: 2,788
Default

Goodman Blower Motor Always On


Those are roll out switches.

The limit is larger, and I think on the right side of your unit.

Give it a tap.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2009, 03:56 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Goodman Blower Motor Always On


In the upper section, correct?

I saw a circular object in the upper left of the top section, could that be it? Also, do I need to tap it while it's running, or should I have everything off first?

Thanks again
skalapeno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2009, 04:09 PM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,554
Rewards Points: 2,788
Default

Goodman Blower Motor Always On


Shut the furnace off, and then tap it.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2009, 05:31 PM   #9
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,472
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Goodman Blower Motor Always On


Goodmans are known for there crappy boards. I had a couple last year where the evap coil condensation pan melted and allowed the condensation to drain onto the board. Been doing it for a while replace pan and board.

Just my $.02
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2009, 07:16 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Goodman Blower Motor Always On


Wow, it worked!

Thanks so much for your help. I will be more careful in the future on what filters I buy, and for what seasons. I'm pretty sure that's what caused it after this and other research.

Also, I suspect in the future I'll be replacing that board. The crew that cleaned the ducts and furnace mentioned a problem with condensation...now I think I'll have the confidence to replace it myself when the time comes.

Thanks again all, I really appreciate your assistance...I would have never figured it out on my own.
skalapeno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2009, 09:46 PM   #11
The new guy
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Goodman Blower Motor Always On


Does anyone know where I can download or purchase a service or parts manual for a Goodman GMP100-3 furnace?
Thanks in advance for the help.
alexcooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 08:25 PM   #12
The new guy
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Goodman Blower Motor Always On


Never mind, I have it. I emailed Goodman and they sent me a PDF copy of the service manual and parts manual.
alexcooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 08:47 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Graham,Wa.
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Goodman Blower Motor Always On


My heater will not shut off with the thermostat,it runs past the set temp until I have to shut off the power to it.I replaced the thermostat and it worked ok for about a month.Now it continues to run with heat even after I shut the stat.off.This is an older Goodman model R30-08 at least 20 years old.Please Help. Signed overheated in Washington.
salmonman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 09:40 PM   #14
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,554
Rewards Points: 2,788
Default

Goodman Blower Motor Always On


Look for shorts in low voltage wiring.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Goodman HVAC system blower stuck on? OhNoes HVAC 14 09-03-2011 07:32 PM
goodman furnace blower qnzkrew HVAC 1 01-09-2008 05:09 PM
Goodman - Blower Quirks wagsterracer HVAC 3 12-03-2007 06:23 AM
Goodman HVAC gmp100-3 Inside blower problems ray_adrea HVAC 4 06-28-2007 12:31 PM
Sub is swapping Amana for Goodman Dragon HVAC 22 02-04-2007 07:54 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.