Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-18-2010, 10:13 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Goodman Blower cycling on and off with no heat


I have a
Goodman GMH81155CN Gas Furnace

115,000 BTU Furnace, 80% Efficiency, 2-Stage Burner, 2,000 CFM Multi-Speed Blower, Upflow/Horizontal Flow Application

as of last night these have been the symptoms:

1 click
2 click
3 click - RED LED at the bottom motor circuit board comes on
4 click - RED LED is still on
5 click - sounds like a double click and exhaust motor comes on the RED LED is still on, but after 2 - 3 seconds the exhaust motor cuts off, RED LED turns off, and the cycle repeats after about 2-3 seconds.


The unit is less than two years old, no wires are loose anywhere, everything looks clean and dandy on a visual inspection.

Please assist

bcarter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 10:24 AM   #2
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

Goodman Blower cycling on and off with no heat


Is hsi glowing red? Unit has 5-10 yrs parts warranty. What is your labor warranty ?

kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 11:34 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Goodman Blower cycling on and off with no heat


Quote:
Originally Posted by kenmac View Post
Is hsi glowing red? Unit has 5-10 yrs parts warranty. What is your labor warranty ?
Hi

The HSI doesn't glow at all.

I switched off the heating functionality at the thermostat control, then went back to the unit to pull these fault codes:

3 - pressure switch stuck open
4 - open high limit

I see the pressure switch on the blower body, took that off not sure what im looking for, it looks functional moves in and out freely.

With the open high limit i dont have the proper tools nor the knowledge or capacity to jump it to diagnose it further.

thanks for your help so far any additional input would be great.
bcarter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 01:18 PM   #4
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

Goodman Blower cycling on and off with no heat


If you don't have the knowledge or the tools to check . I would call the installer & find out why the limit opened. You may have warranty & if you tinker with it he may void your warranty
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 01:41 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Goodman Blower cycling on and off with no heat


Thanks for the follow up

I used this site to check the high limit switch
http://www.ihatemyfurnace.com/

according to this if i get continuity its functioning. I got continuity.

While i look for the info of the guy that installed this im going to just check things out, ie like blockage in tubes, continuity etc.

appreciate the help so far.
bcarter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.