Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-18-2011, 04:07 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Goodman air handler will not start normally


My Goodman A42-10 air handler does not always come on after the outside unit has been on for the appropriate amount of time (fan delay period).
I have replaced the time delay relay 2 times.
I have tried three different thermostats (programmable and old school type).
To get the air handler to work, we switch the fan switch from auto to on, wait until it blows (this fails some times), turn Heat/AC switch from Off to A/C.
I thought it was a problem of what signals the air handler to start? The outside unit or the thermostat?
2 questions:
1. WTF??
2. If no other suggestions, can the thermostat be wired in such a way to bypass the time delay relay or to force the air handler on (automatically vs. manually)? To heck with the energy savings by waiting until air is cool, the manual thermostat is killing that anyway. (When all else fails, sometimes jumping the orange and green wires in the thermostat will work)

jomamba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 05:37 PM   #2
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Goodman air handler will not start normally


it may be a bad capacitor. while the stat is calling for fan and the fan does not come on check for line voltage to the motor. Also check the capacitor if you can by taking it to a local motor shop.

__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2011, 07:45 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2
Default

Goodman air handler will not start normally


I learned that the capacitor is the first thing you check. Consequently, I have extras (2).
I've been fighting this for several years, hence the multiple thermostats, delay relay and capacitors.
I really thought it was an issue of what signals this goodman air handler to activate?
Thermostat or outdoor unit?
My current thermostat has gas vs. elec. jumpers. Manual says gas=outdoor unit signals and elec=thermostat signals.
Tried both.
Everytihing (capacitor, delay relay, thermostat units & thermostat jumpers) I have tried will appear to work for a while.
Then after a random interval the air handler will fail to start.
jomamba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2011, 08:03 PM   #4
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Goodman air handler will not start normally


while the stat is calling for fan and the fan does not come on check for line voltage to the motor. Also check for 24V from G to C while it is not working.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Air Compressor blowing start capacitors? BBC3 Electrical 9 04-28-2013 11:34 AM
Goodman furnace won't start droppodr HVAC 5 03-01-2010 06:55 PM
Squirrel cage motor in air handler...no start andyinrichmond HVAC 13 03-15-2009 03:53 PM
Sub is swapping Amana for Goodman Dragon HVAC 22 02-04-2007 07:54 AM
Goodman Air Handler with Missing Parts cougarhsv HVAC 2 01-17-2007 08:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.