Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-09-2011, 11:47 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Goodman 6 flashes fails to light after fan


I have a 2-year-old goodman 95% furnace with non-variable fan. I'm not sure of the model number. It worked fine last year and never gave us any issues. This year it began acting up on Christmas. I would hear the fan cycling with no heat. I checked and it was flashing 8 times.

I called the guy who installed and he came out and said it was a bad ignitor which he replaced. It was then OK for about 2 weeks and the same issue started again. The termo calls for heat, the unit cycles on and fan starts, I never hear gas flow and after about 20 seconds it shuts off. It repeats every 5 minutes or so and sometimes eventually lights. If I power the unit off and immediately try again it again fails to light. If I power off and wait ~30 minutes it lights fine and generally continues to cycle OK for about 12 hours or so.

I called a 2nd tech to look at it and he immediately suspected water in the vent lines. There was none. He then cl;eaned and check and said his suspicion was a) goodman sucks b) the unit was not getting sufficient air c) the unit is over-sized for out home/ducting d) the flame was turned too high. He adjusted the flame lower and told us to keep all registers open.

The unit then worked without issue for another 2 weeks or so and has now started it's issue again.

We power off for ~30 minutes and then it works for 12 hours or so.

Here's a few suspects that I have:

1) gas pressure is low (I don't believe either tech checked this) and the unit seems to work worse when we use a lot of hot water (gas water)

2) The vent lines are clogged. (I haven't checked yet due to snow/mud)

3) The circuitry is bad

4) The unit is truly over-sized for the house/ducting

Any help would be MUCH appreciated!!

barnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 12:19 AM   #2
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,901
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Goodman 6 flashes fails to light after fan


which blower is coming on,inducer motor or fan on bottem of furnace?
1-stat calls for heat
2-inducer motor begins to spin creating vacuam which closes pressure switch next to inducer motor.
3-pressure switch sends signal to board which in turn heats hot surface igniter.
4-once igniter lights/heats up gas valve opens to light burners
5-flame sensor(thermo couple replacement)senses flame and keeps burners lit,if no flame is detected shuts down gas valve
6-once furnace reaches temp blower motor comes on to circulate air through house.
are these things taking place,which one does it stop at?
how are the combustion/flue pipes attached to furnace?
can you remove flue pipes from top of furnace and try to operate it shortly?(open doors/windows while doing this) if furnace runs,check flue pipe and combustion air pipe.
what size of gas line is feeding your furnace and dryer?
most furnace warranty issues are caused more by install issues than anything to do with a brand name in my experiance anyway.
got any pictures of install?

plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 12:26 AM   #3
Newbie
 
HAMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Oak Park, Michigan
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Goodman 6 flashes fails to light after fan


Quote:
Originally Posted by plummen View Post
which blower is coming on,inducer motor or fan on bottem of furnace?
1-stat calls for heat
2-inducer motor begins to spin creating vacuam which closes pressure switch next to inducer motor.
3-pressure switch sends signal to board which in turn heats hot surface igniter.
4-once igniter lights/heats up gas valve opens to light burners
5-flame sensor(thermo couple replacement)senses flame and keeps burners lit,if no flame is detected shuts down gas valve
6-once furnace reaches temp blower motor comes on to circulate air through house.
are these things taking place,which one does it stop at?
how are the combustion/flue pipes attached to furnace?
can you remove flue pipes from top of furnace and try to operate it shortly?(open doors/windows while doing this) if furnace runs,check flue pipe and combustion air pipe.
what size of gas line is feeding your furnace and dryer?
most furnace warranty issues are caused more by install issues than anything to do with a brand name in my experiance anyway.
got any pictures of install?
I have a thread with close to the same problem:
Heater will not stay on

with mine it's #5 on your list, except a flame starts, but it still shuts down. It never reaches the desired temp to blow thru the house
HAMP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 12:32 AM   #4
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,901
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Goodman 6 flashes fails to light after fan


if lame comes on but doesnt stay lit id pull the flame sensor out(usually just one screw to remove) be carefull removing the wire if you need to remove it.
if flame sensor has any white/black crud on it clean it with fine steel wool and reinstall.
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 12:40 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Goodman 6 flashes fails to light after fan


Quote:
Originally Posted by plummen View Post
which blower is coming on,inducer motor or fan on bottem of furnace?
1-stat calls for heat
2-inducer motor begins to spin creating vacuum which closes pressure switch next to inducer motor.
3-pressure switch sends signal to board which in turn heats hot surface igniter.

are these things taking place,which one does it stop at?
It stops after step 3 and then flashes 6 times in the lower window LED.
After a power rest (~30 minutes) It run as normal and brings the house to the requested heat.

Quote:
how are the combustion/flue pipes attached to furnace?
The flue pipes are attached to the top of the furnace one is stepped down from 4 inch to 2 inch at the furnace. the other is also stepped but has a small rubber section to allow some give. Presumably because the install was not perfect and the pipe wouldn't reach perfectly.

Quote:
can you remove flue pipes from top of furnace and try to operate it shortly?
It operates fine after a reset so I believe the flues are OK?
Quote:
what size of gas line is feeding your furnace and dryer?
Gas line is 1 1/4" to house and the stepped down prior to water heater and furnace to 1"
Quote:
most furnace warranty issues are caused more by install issues than anything to do with a brand name in my experiance anyway.
I would assume so too...the ignitor was replaced and that didnt help so most likely install issue?

Quote:
got any pictures of install?
pictures here
http://imgur.com/a/J6NrG
barnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 12:51 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Goodman 6 flashes fails to light after fan


Quote:
Originally Posted by plummen View Post
if lame comes on but doesnt stay lit id pull the flame sensor out(usually just one screw to remove) be carefull removing the wire if you need to remove it.
if flame sensor has any white/black crud on it clean it with fine steel wool and reinstall.
In my case when flame comes on it stays lit and works fine.
barnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 12:56 AM   #7
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,901
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Goodman 6 flashes fails to light after fan


try removing the vacuam line from the inducer motor and sucking through the hose,you should hear the contacts inside pressure switch close when you do this then open when you stop.
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 01:00 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Goodman 6 flashes fails to light after fan


Quote:
Originally Posted by plummen View Post
try removing the vacuam line from the inducer motor and sucking through the hose,you should hear the contacts inside pressure switch close when you do this then open when you stop.
I assume I open the lower panel to get to these hoses? can you explain in more detail? It's running now so I'd rather wait until we have a fault again. Can you explain your thought process for troubleshooting?
barnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 01:03 AM   #9
Newbie
 
HAMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Oak Park, Michigan
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Goodman 6 flashes fails to light after fan


Hey Barnis, I didn't mean to hijack your thread, it was just getting cold in here and I didn't know really what to do.

To plummen:
I thought it might have been a blocked flue, took it loose and nothing changed. put it back and nothing changed.

I took the door off to maybe see if I could visually see a problem, once I took the door off, everything is working fine now.

I wasn't a brute when taking the door off, and I think the only wire I could have moved or touched when taking off was the two yellow wires in the second pic.

I am scared to put the darn door back on. can you tell me which wire I might have to work with to make it stay working properly?
Attached Thumbnails
Goodman 6 flashes fails to light after fan-dscn0105.jpg   Goodman 6 flashes fails to light after fan-dscn0106.jpg   Goodman 6 flashes fails to light after fan-dscn0107.jpg   Goodman 6 flashes fails to light after fan-dscn0108.jpg  
HAMP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 01:06 AM   #10
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,901
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Goodman 6 flashes fails to light after fan


its a black or grey rubber hose inside top cabinet.
one end is hooked to a barb on the inducer motor other end is hooked to a round plastic canister/switch with 2 wires coming off of it.
definately wait till it quits working again before checking it ,or wait till you have some warm weather
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 01:06 AM   #11
Newbie
 
HAMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Oak Park, Michigan
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Goodman 6 flashes fails to light after fan


Or maybe that little black thing in pic #4... that might have wiggled a little when the door was removed. It's part of the other door.
HAMP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 01:07 AM   #12
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,901
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Goodman 6 flashes fails to light after fan


thats a door safety switch,if its open nothing will work
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 01:12 AM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Goodman 6 flashes fails to light after fan


Quote:
Originally Posted by plummen View Post
its a black or grey rubber hose inside top cabinet.
one end is hooked to a barb on the inducer motor other end is hooked to a round plastic canister/switch with 2 wires coming off of it.
definately wait till it quits working again before checking it ,or wait till you have some warm weather
Is there any harm in opening either the top or the bottom panel (assuming it's warm weather?

Is your thinking that the pressure is not getting created? Would I get a 6 flash error with that?
barnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 01:13 AM   #14
Newbie
 
HAMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Oak Park, Michigan
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Goodman 6 flashes fails to light after fan


Quote:
Originally Posted by plummen View Post
thats a door safety switch,if its open nothing will work
ok, so not that thing. Do you see what else I could have wiggled when taking that top door off?


Those two yellow wires?
HAMP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 01:19 AM   #15
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,901
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Goodman 6 flashes fails to light after fan


Quote:
Originally Posted by barnis View Post
Is there any harm in opening either the top or the bottom panel (assuming it's warm weather?

Is your thinking that the pressure is not getting created? Would I get a 6 flash error with that?
you can open either door anytime,not sure about the fault code numbers.
im used to having the furnace sitting in front of me,if you were within 100 miles of louisville ne id probably just drive over and look at it for ya,retirement is boring!

plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding 2 more lights to existing light BCH_COLIN Electrical 7 01-24-2011 11:04 AM
Weathermaker 9200 Ignitor fails to light Atomic HVAC 5 03-22-2010 11:59 AM
Pilot light button on furnace won't turn whydonchathen HVAC 5 10-05-2008 11:03 PM
Furnace won't light (Goodman GMP100-3) MattJ HVAC 8 10-03-2008 09:11 AM
Trane 80xl, 3 flashes error light - draft pressure problem, help? Xsta HVAC 1 10-14-2007 08:20 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.