Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-05-2010, 01:33 PM   #1
Wire Chewer

Share |

good idea to get furnace inspected yearly?

I have a rather new furnace, maybe 5 years old or so, it runs fine. Is it still a good idea to get it inspected every year? Is there anything DIY I can inspect, or is this best left to a pro? I have basic knowledge on how it works, but not to the point of taking apart anything major, which I'm sure a pro would do.

Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 02:51 PM   #2

IMO inspections are best done by a pro. You can clean the flame sensor,burners,crossovers and blower but all that is more then likely included in the service call so why bother. Real good idea to get it checked over while the parts are still under warranty.

Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 03:03 PM   #3

Gas fired ?
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 06:10 PM   #4
Wire Chewer

Yeah, gas.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 06:15 PM   #5

I lived in my last house for 7 years & never had the gas furnace serviced
I had a board fail during that time - $200 to replace
Probably serviced as part of the repair - but not sure
Gas heat, HW, cooking & dryer
But not a huge gas bill...I had a wood stove
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 08:57 PM   #6

Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Squirrel View Post
I have a rather new furnace, maybe 5 years old or so, it runs fine. Is it still a good idea to get it inspected every year? Is there anything DIY I can inspect, or is this best left to a pro? I have basic knowledge on how it works, but not to the point of taking apart anything major, which I'm sure a pro would do.
I take everything apart in the fall. Clean the burners, blower wheel,and flame sensor. Also oil the motor..

While the blower is out I will also check the hx and A-coil as well.