Gibson Furnace Burners Don't Work - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-21-2011, 10:09 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Gibson furnace burners don't work


Hi, I have a Gibson furnace. When thermostat asks for heat, I can see the inducer draft motor starts up, pressure switch pulls in, igniter glows red, but the burners do not come on. I can also see the LED flink three times. When I push somewhere on the 9-pin connector on the control board with my hand, the burner comes on, but it goes out once my hand is off the connector. What is the problem? Please help!

Advertisement

rockyzys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 12:32 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,112
Rewards Points: 862
Default

Gibson furnace burners don't work


bad connection or bad board or bad grounding of the board.

Advertisement

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 01:55 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Gibson furnace burners don't work


Can you tell me how to check the board grounding? Thanks!
rockyzys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 05:58 PM   #4
HVAC Tech/ Browns Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dayton, ohio
Posts: 541
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Gibson furnace burners don't work


That harness has wires goes through that part. Need take a part and make sure the wires are push into the harness. Sometime the great old cable ties can help
Tator1076 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 07:10 PM   #5
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,112
Rewards Points: 862
Default

Gibson furnace burners don't work


I would carefully remove that harness off the board and inspect the pins with a magnifying glass and see if any are pushed back. then reconnect it. not familiar with that brand but they all work the same ( within reason). there should be a green wire from that harness or the board which goes to the chassis of the furnace or metal mount the board attaches too. post a pic of the board and mounting. you can also with the power On and the door switch held in with the handyman's secret weapon (duct tape) check with a AC volt meter between the C terminal on the board and the neutral wire coming into the furnace. should get less than 1 volt reading. let me know if it is higher. if so the furnace may not be grounded properly. sounds more like a connection to the board problem to me. one brand had poor solder joints and lots of failures of their boards.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
forced air furnace fan setting won't work turkish777 Electrical 31 03-14-2012 01:28 AM
Furnace Burners Flicker On and Off EDOinHB HVAC 19 02-22-2012 06:55 PM
Trane Gas Furnace - blower on but no flame at burners herbert8101 HVAC 2 09-24-2011 09:23 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 02:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts