Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-11-2010, 10:36 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 17
Share |
Default

Gibson condenser


Who make Gibson and how reliable are they? Is it normal for new R22 condenser to come with nitrogen from factory?

max2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 11:46 AM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 12,963
Default

Gibson condenser


Yes, it is normal for condensers to have Nitrogen in them to keep moisture out during storage & shipping. As for reliability for Gibson's or any manufacturer, it is up to the opinion of those that have a particular unit, and costs to maintain.

gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 01:15 PM   #3
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,356
Default

Gibson condenser


The condensor should be full of the factory charge of freon and the evaporator coil has nitrogen in it.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 01:30 PM   #4
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

Gibson condenser


Quote:
Originally Posted by max2k View Post
Who make Gibson

Nordyne product

Last edited by kenmac; 10-11-2010 at 01:45 PM.
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 01:35 PM   #5
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

Gibson condenser


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Yes, it is normal for condensers to have Nitrogen in them to keep moisture out during storage & shipping.

Like Yuri said. A coil nitrogen. cond. comes with refrigerant
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 01:43 PM   #6
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,356
Default

Gibson condenser


Nordyne

http://www.nordyne.com/web/ResLand.aspx
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 01:57 PM   #7
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 12,963
Default

Gibson condenser


R-22's are now shipped with Nitrogen, no longer shipped with refrigerant charge in them.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 02:03 PM   #8
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

Gibson condenser


Just called my supplier . He only has a select few R22 units left....All his units have R22 not nitrogen
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 03:11 PM   #9
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 12,963
Default

Gibson condenser


Quote:
Originally Posted by kenmac View Post
Just called my supplier . He only has a select few R22 units left....All his units have R22 not nitrogen
What was the manufacturing date of said units? Anything after the cut off is now shipped with Nitrogen, and have to be classified as replacement units.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 05:04 PM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,542
Default

Gibson condenser


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
What was the manufacturing date of said units? Anything after the cut off is now shipped with Nitrogen, and have to be classified as replacement units.
Hmmm. I'll have to ask my Nordyne distributor. if they are getting any units like that.

Even classified as a replacement unit. it still would fall. Under the new equipment rule. Since it is new.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 05:11 PM   #11
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

Gibson condenser


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Hmmm. I'll have to ask my Nordyne distributor. if they are getting any units like that.

Even classified as a replacement unit. it still would fall. Under the new equipment rule. Since it is new.


That's what mine said. They get them (what's left ) filled with r22. Once these are gone no more r22. all 410
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 06:25 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 17
Default

Gibson condenser


Thanks a lot for the information guys. I normally see it with factory charge R22 refrigerant according to the label on the condenser.

This time they said they only have Gibson brand left, filled with factory nitrogen because of the new regulation.

I thought they don't make R22 condenser anymore and only sell the one that have left.

I haven't make a decision to buy it yet after I had contact them on the phone.

Again thanks for the clarification.

max2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Goodman Fan Condenser Replacement Help bigjohnstud4200 HVAC 2 07-03-2010 01:54 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.