Geothermal Question - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-24-2009, 08:57 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Geothermal question


We have decided to geothermal on our HVAC replacement. Can I install a patio over the system once it is installed? Do I need to wait a certain length of time for the ground to settle? What should we be doing to prevent future problems. Thanks.

Advertisement

Pawsox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 02:54 PM   #2
30 year tech
 
hvac122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 427
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Geothermal question


The wells most likely won't be that close to your house. If you mean your pipes leading to the wells then you should be OK. Make sure the manifold is not under the patio in case you ever need to get to it. Take pictures of where things are buried just in case.

Advertisement

hvac122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 03:10 PM   #3
DIY'r
 
ScottR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hicksville, NY (Yes, it's an actual town).
Posts: 520
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Geothermal question


Pawsox,

What type of geothermal system? Ground loop, open loop, etc.

If ground loop, my thought is with accessibility -- if you had a leak in a line under the patio, then you'd be tearing it up. I wouldn't go with a concrete slab for the patio, just in case.

You shouldn't have an issue with settling, so long as the trenching is backfilled properly and you use the correct substrate for your patio (crushed stone/sand, concrete, etc).

I'm not an HVAC guy, so that's just my uneducated 2 cents.
ScottR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 03:32 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,727
Rewards Points: 1,274
Default

Geothermal question


It's been my experience that any backfilled area settles too much to immediately put a concrete slab over it unless it has been compacted according to a rigorous process for the purpose of supporting a slab.

If this is a ground loop a top notch installer would perform some level of compaction to ensure good performance at startup. However some installers may do a better job than others on compaction. And what they are concerned with is getting good soil/tube contact so they might not compact the top few feet as well figuring in a year or so it will compact on it's own.
jogr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Simplest Geothermal setup question tchan HVAC 5 10-02-2008 10:47 AM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 09:19 AM
geothermal question robert smith HVAC 2 01-17-2008 09:48 PM
New service Question Onytay Electrical 1 10-24-2007 06:47 AM
One furnace question and one thermostat question lh0628 HVAC 4 10-11-2007 11:17 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts