Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-29-2009, 06:22 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 18
Share |
Default

General Question about a duct


Hello,

I know very little about HVAC and duct work so i appologize in advanced for my ignorance.

In one of the walls in my house there is a metal duct with insultaion wrapped around it that measures about 24 inches wide x 12 inches deep.

It runs from the basement to a second floor vent in the ceiling that does not blow out any cold air when the central AC is turned on.

I have 2 questions:

1. What kind of duct is this?

2. I would like to build a recessed shelve in the 1st floor wall, and the duct is right up against the wall. I would like the re-route the duct several inchest back in the wall (yes the wall is deeper than the duct) so i can build the recessed shelve. Any suggestions on how this could be done?

Thank you,

John

lda130 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 07:09 PM   #2
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,627
Default

General Question about a duct


does the furnace have return duct connected to it on the side when your standing in front of it....with the supply duct on top of the furnace?where does your filter go on the for furnace?if you have no return duct work raw uninsulated back to the furnace and the filter mounts on the furnace access panel that is your return...so that duct drop is the return from the 2nd floor if it isn't in close proxsimity to the filtered return you might consider ectending it. lets hear what you have there

biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 07:34 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 18
Default

General Question about a duct


On the top of the furnice i believe is the supply duct for the rooms b/c going into the duct coming out of the top of the furnice are refrigerant filled lines

does this help any?
lda130 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 07:56 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 18
Default

General Question about a duct


ok,

the top of the furnace is the air supply for the rooms, the filter is in the front of the furnace

on the bottom of the furnace on the side is where that large 24 x 12 inch duct comes out of.
lda130 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2009, 07:56 PM   #5
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,627
Default

General Question about a duct


if you have duct woork going into the lower side ofthef furnace that is your return but your saying the filter is on the front also...follow the uninsulated duct from the side of the unit that duct might have to be connected to it to pull the 2nd floor..is there awallgrill on the first floor near the stat and a grill on the second floor?
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2009, 08:41 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 18
Default

General Question about a duct


yes there is.

but all i'm interested in doing is re-routing the duct in the wall on the 1st floor.

I want to move it back about 1 foot so i can build a recessed shelve b/c right now the duct is in the way.

since the return duct is 24 x 12 inches, would it significantly compromise the system if i cut out a 5 foot section and run a duct with a smaller cross section for that 5 foot run so i would have enough room to creat my recessed shelve?
lda130 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2009, 08:55 PM   #7
30 year tech
 
hvac122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 427
Default

General Question about a duct


Quote:
Originally Posted by lda130 View Post
yes there is.

but all i'm interested in doing is re-routing the duct in the wall on the 1st floor.

I want to move it back about 1 foot so i can build a recessed shelve b/c right now the duct is in the way.

since the return duct is 24 x 12 inches, would it significantly compromise the system if i cut out a 5 foot section and run a duct with a smaller cross section for that 5 foot run so i would have enough room to creat my recessed shelve?
Yes it would compromise the system unless already very oversized.
hvac122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2009, 05:24 AM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,800
Default

General Question about a duct


Yep, it would hurt the system performance.
Probably would notice your second floor not cooling well anymore.
In reality, it should be made bigger to make the offset. And probably vanned.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Duct pipe question DIYGST HVAC 2 01-07-2009 11:03 AM
Noobish Duct Connection Question jonathan03 HVAC 4 12-30-2008 07:52 AM
air duct question grappler777 HVAC 3 12-15-2008 08:07 PM
Duct Work Question xlr8tn HVAC 1 01-19-2008 09:02 AM
Can I use duct tape? Dusty HVAC 2 09-27-2006 08:28 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.