Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-08-2011, 08:27 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: KS
Posts: 411
Share |
Default

gas water heater vent into furnace vent???


I know there are times when this is ok and when it isn't ok. Currently, both run seperately to my chimney stack and the chimeny isn't lined. I want to move my gas hot water heater to a different location and it'd be much easier to then duct into the vent that feeds the furnace, but I want to insure it is ok to do. I believe I asked a housing inspector once and that he said it was ok, but it's been a while and I want to double check.

My water heater is atmospheric-vent, the furnace appears to have a small blower on it's vent, it is about a 7-8yr old unit if that makes a difference. The water heater is currently a piece of crap wirlpool, but when the move is made will probably be replaced with a Bradford White unit. I can provide exact model if need be for the furnace and the water heater.

Once I make the change, I plan on adding a flexible stainless steel (?) liner to the chimney that will terminate the top of the chimney. I could run them seperate, but then I'd have to run two liners out of the chimney, but prefer a single liner for now to allow room to possibly add a gas fireplace to my firebox and would need the remaining room for that liner!

Thanks for any feedback...

Master Brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2011, 09:21 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

gas water heater vent into furnace vent???


No problems running both to the same liner. It will need to be the right size. Sizing info is in the furnace and water heater installation instructions.

Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Marty S. For This Useful Post:
Master Brian (05-08-2011)
Old 05-08-2011, 12:16 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: KS
Posts: 411
Default

gas water heater vent into furnace vent???


Quote:
Originally Posted by Marty S. View Post
No problems running both to the same liner. It will need to be the right size. Sizing info is in the furnace and water heater installation instructions.
Thanks, I'll try to find that info. It looks like the flex liner I would add is 6" and I believe the ducts in place currently are 4" coming off the furnace and the hot water, so if all I'd need is to increase that, no big deal....
Master Brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water Heater Vent problems hobber HVAC 5 02-01-2011 08:03 AM
Oil fired furnace and hot water heater question steveinpa Plumbing 3 08-10-2010 08:42 AM
A blocked water line causing water to loose heat? Snav Plumbing 6 05-07-2010 02:18 PM
low hot water pressure angus242 Plumbing 10 01-08-2009 11:41 AM
Water heater drain mechanism (10 year old) guptaalok Plumbing 1 01-02-2009 05:40 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.