Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-01-2012, 01:04 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Gas valve circuit error-furnace


I have an american standard freedom 80 comfort-r furnace.the burners will only light up for a few seconds and then will shut off. It continues to try and light up but with no success. According to the 7 flashing lights, it says that it is a gas valve circuit error.what can I do to fix this?


Last edited by Jgolden; 01-01-2012 at 01:06 PM.
Jgolden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 01:42 PM   #2
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

Gas valve circuit error-furnace


try cleaning the flame sensor. one wire to it, thin metal rod possibly shaped like an L that sits directly in the flame so look for it in the burner area. use a scouring pad like the green rough dish washing ones.

__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Doc Holliday For This Useful Post:
plummen (01-01-2012)
Old 01-01-2012, 01:42 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 804
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Gas valve circuit error-furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jgolden View Post
I have an american standard freedom 80 comfort-r furnace.the burners will only light up for a few seconds and then will shut off. It continues to try and light up but with no success. According to the 7 flashing lights, it says that it is a gas valve circuit error.what can I do to fix this?
Locate, remove and clean the flame sensor........steel wool, Emory cloth or a fine grit sand paper
harleyrider is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to harleyrider For This Useful Post:
plummen (01-01-2012)
Old 01-01-2012, 01:43 PM   #4
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

Gas valve circuit error-furnace


I win.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 01:47 PM   #5
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,328
Rewards Points: 1,022
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Gas valve circuit error-furnace


a 7 flash gas valve circuit error is that 24V is present on the gas valve circuit when it should not be. However, what you describe is not a symptom of a 7 flash error. Are you sure you counted the LED flashes correctly. What you have described sounds exactly like a dirty flame sensor as the others have instructed you to clean.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 01:59 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 804
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Gas valve circuit error-furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
I win.
The winner is the client that we are assisting.
harleyrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 02:02 PM   #7
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

Gas valve circuit error-furnace


I meant "I win" because I snuck in my answer first.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 02:04 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 804
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Gas valve circuit error-furnace


Congratulations, did you do a victory burn out? I was not aware that this was a competition.
harleyrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 02:07 PM   #9
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

Gas valve circuit error-furnace


Never mind.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 02:09 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Gas valve circuit error-furnace


Wow, that was just too simple.
Jgolden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 02:14 PM   #11
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

Gas valve circuit error-furnace


So the flame sensor was the problem?
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 02:21 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Gas valve circuit error-furnace


I guess so, it's working now. Thanks!

Jgolden is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
furnace


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dispute: Oven malfunction after h/w guys used the circuit rational Appliances 18 05-17-2011 11:37 PM
Cant get the valve off (with picture) clof2001 Plumbing 3 05-10-2010 04:04 AM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 10:33 AM
Leaking pressure relief valve Chris Magee Plumbing 12 08-12-2008 08:48 PM
Toilet: water still coming from BOTTOM of Inlet Valve DIY Mom Plumbing 1 08-12-2008 01:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.