Gas Valve - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-16-2013, 09:39 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

gas valve


I just installed a ruud 80 energizer gas furnace(used) and when I fired it up (hooked to natural gas) I only get the first chamber to fire,(there are 4)and then it goes out due to flame sensor not sensing a flame.I took it all apart,chambers are clean.Entire manifold is clean.Orfices are not plugged.One thing I did notice is orfices are very big,perhaps person who had furnace before me had propane and that is what is keeping all chambers from firing.Unit fairly new and any help would be appreciated thanks!

Advertisement

dompro28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 10:04 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,471
Rewards Points: 4,588
Default

gas valve


Do a search for the install manual to find out what size orifices should be in it.

Advertisement

__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
dompro28 (06-17-2013)
Old 06-17-2013, 01:15 AM   #3
Member
 
FClef's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 216
Rewards Points: 156
Default

gas valve


Natural gas orifices are larger than propane ones due to operating pressure of the gas. However, if you look on the orifice it should have a number stamped on it.
FClef is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to FClef For This Useful Post:
dompro28 (06-17-2013)
Old 06-17-2013, 06:49 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 241
Rewards Points: 200
Default

gas valve


What are the gas pressures befor and after the vavle? you'll need a manometer to check.
hvac instructor is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to hvac instructor For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (09-28-2013), COLDIRON (09-28-2013), dompro28 (06-17-2013)
Old 06-17-2013, 07:52 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

gas valve


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Do a search for the install manual to find out what size orifices should be in it.
Can you think of any other reason the entire manifold would not fire if the orifices are correct?Have you ever seen this before?thanks
dompro28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 07:53 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

gas valve


Quote:
Originally Posted by FClef View Post
Natural gas orifices are larger than propane ones due to operating pressure of the gas. However, if you look on the orifice it should have a number stamped on it.
Have you ever seen this before.Very odd only first chamber fires.Anything else could possibly cause this to happen?thanks,Dom
dompro28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 07:57 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

gas valve


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvac instructor View Post
What are the gas pressures befor and after the vavle? you'll need a manometer to check.
Would a bad gas valve cause this to happen.It is an electronic valve,don,t know if it is a 2 stage or not.Have you ever seen or heard this happening before?Very strange thanks,Dom
dompro28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 12:20 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 282
Rewards Points: 266
Default

gas valve


Have I ever seen this happen? Hundreds of times.
Can the gas valve be causing it? Possibly, but doubtful.

Let's start with the terminology. The "chamber" is not what is lighting, it's the burner.

You have the first of multiple burners lighting. This burner is next to the ignition source. IE: hot surface ignitor or spark of some sort.
The flame from the first burner is not traveling to the subsequent burners and eventually to the last (furthest from ignitor) burner and because of this the flame sensor is not sensing flame and the safety control is shutting the gas valve off.

When you removed the burners did you check to make sure that the means for the flames to jump from one burner to the next was/were clean? These are called cross overs, because they allow the flame to cross from one burner to the next.

You said you connected it to natural gas, but was it on natural gas in it's previous application?

To set up a gas furnace correctly the minimum you need is some means to measure gas pressures. Do you have such a thing?
old_squid is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to old_squid For This Useful Post:
FClef (06-17-2013)
Old 06-18-2013, 07:56 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

gas valve


I removed the manifold,everything was clean and flame should have jumped.The first time I fired up the furnace all the burners fired,blower went on but the air coming out of the registers wasn't warm,almost felt like just the fan was on.After a 5 mins or so I started having present problem.I don't have a manometer to measure pressure.
dompro28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 03:47 PM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,471
Rewards Points: 4,588
Default

gas valve


Without a manometer. Your at a stand still. Either make one, buy one, or gt a tech out.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (09-28-2013), COLDIRON (09-30-2013)
Old 09-26-2013, 08:18 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

gas valve


I am thinking unit set up for propane anybody know what size orifice should be for a ruud achiever series quiet 80,model rgpn?
dompro28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2013, 08:51 PM   #12
Member
 
FClef's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 216
Rewards Points: 156
Default

gas valve


Quote:
Originally Posted by dompro28 View Post
I am thinking unit set up for propane anybody know what size orifice should be for a ruud achiever series quiet 80,model rgpn?
Should be on the documentation for the furnace. The spec plate may have that too. But you have got to see that your pressures are correct and if you haven't done that, you are at the same place you were before.
__________________

"Human beings can always be relied upon to assert, with vigor, their God-given right to be stupid"
Dean Koontz - Seize The Night
FClef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 06:35 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,624
Rewards Points: 2,562
Default

gas valve


look at the gas valve if it was converted to LP it should have a sticker stating such....ben sr
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2013, 12:15 PM   #14
Member
 
FClef's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 216
Rewards Points: 156
Default

gas valve


Quote:
Originally Posted by ben's plumbing View Post
look at the gas valve if it was converted to LP it should have a sticker stating such....ben sr
If it hasn't fallen off or was never put on by the tech. Can't just go by a sticker, I sure wouldn't.
__________________

"Human beings can always be relied upon to assert, with vigor, their God-given right to be stupid"
Dean Koontz - Seize The Night
FClef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2013, 04:22 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,624
Rewards Points: 2,562
Default

gas valve


Quote:
Originally Posted by FClef View Post
If it hasn't fallen off or was never put on by the tech. Can't just go by a sticker, I sure wouldn't.
your right can't just go by a sticker....as a tech I would not either..but as a diy with limited knowledge and tools sometimes simple things help the most to fix a problem...ben sr

Advertisement

ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ben's plumbing For This Useful Post:
COLDIRON (09-30-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shut off valve for outdoor spigot C4per Plumbing 15 11-24-2012 08:50 AM
How To Solder Copper Pipes Termite How To Guides 69 11-13-2012 01:20 PM
Cant get the valve off (with picture) clof2001 Plumbing 3 05-10-2010 04:04 AM
Leaking pressure relief valve Chris Magee Plumbing 12 08-12-2008 08:48 PM
Toilet: water still coming from BOTTOM of Inlet Valve DIY Mom Plumbing 1 08-12-2008 01:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts