Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-17-2010, 01:54 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Question

Gas Furnace Won't Stay Running / Thermostat Set High To Start


Hello All!

Our Gas Furnace (Model and Serial Forthcoming) seems to have developed a couple of problems.

1) When the furnace gets flame and starts, 90% of the time is shuts off almost immediately. I purchased a new flame sensor and this did not seem to fix the problem.

2) The furnace seemingly will not start unless I manually change the temperature on our digital thermostat to way above the current ambient temperature. (example - The house is 70f I'd need to increase the temp on the thermostat to 80f to get it to click and start the furnace.)

It may be important to mention that there are no problems when are using the AC instead.

There is no flashing error codes either.

Are these problems related? Could this be a bad digital thermostat? Could the thermostat be wired wrong? Any thoughts on the matter are appreciated and thanks in advance!

_scott


Last edited by _scott; 10-17-2010 at 01:56 PM.
_scott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2010, 02:26 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,079
Rewards Points: 50
Default

Gas Furnace Won't Stay Running / Thermostat Set High To Start


If it comes on when you set the thermostat higher. Its generally a thermostat problem, and not a furnace problem.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 09:04 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Gas Furnace Won't Stay Running / Thermostat Set High To Start


Quote:
Originally Posted by _scott View Post
Hello All!



2) The furnace seemingly will not start unless I manually change the temperature on our digital thermostat to way above the current ambient temperature. (example - The house is 70f I'd need to increase the temp on the thermostat to 80f to get it to click and start the furnace.)

It may be important to mention that there are no problems when are using the AC instead.

There is no flashing error codes either.

Are these problems related? Could this be a bad digital thermostat? Could the thermostat be wired wrong? Any thoughts on the matter are appreciated and thanks in advance!

_scott

what's wrong with your second problem? I have the exact problem,gas furnance would kick in unless the temperature set way higher than current temperature(like 80s).

Thanks.
dinghb388 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 09:07 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Gas Furnace Won't Stay Running / Thermostat Set High To Start


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
If it comes on when you set the thermostat higher. Its generally a thermostat problem, and not a furnace problem.
Is there maybe a sensor in furnance contribute the problem? how does it work for coordinate the thermostat and furnance?

thanks.
dinghb388 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 04:48 AM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,079
Rewards Points: 50
Default

Gas Furnace Won't Stay Running / Thermostat Set High To Start


There is no sensor in the furnace, that coordinates with the thermostat.

If you have to raise the set temp on the stat(and it comes on everytime you do this). Its not a furnace problem.

If your turning the stat down and then back up to start it. Then a safety in the furnace is shutting the furnace down. And you'll have to check which one is doing it.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 09:06 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Gas Furnace Won't Stay Running / Thermostat Set High To Start


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
There is no sensor in the furnace, that coordinates with the thermostat.

If you have to raise the set temp on the stat(and it comes on everytime you do this). Its not a furnace problem.

If your turning the stat down and then back up to start it. Then a safety in the furnace is shutting the furnace down. And you'll have to check which one is doing it.
Setting the high temperature(80F) on thermostat will start and keep the furnace running every time, lower the temperature will stop the furnace.

There is no need to turning the thermostat down then up to start, just set the temp high enough will start the furnace.

I will change a thermostat first and see if it solve the problem.


Thanks.
dinghb388 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 07:27 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Gas Furnace Won't Stay Running / Thermostat Set High To Start


Just wanted to drop back in are share that this problem was solved by cleaning the flame sensor.

_scott is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
frustration, gas furnace, heating, thermostat


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP! Electric furnace won't stop running! knchat HVAC 3 12-28-2011 08:38 AM
New Coleman oil furnace, won't stop running Loni HVAC 11 10-16-2010 06:40 PM
Heil furnace won't start - just a click and a hum MrGookat HVAC 4 01-06-2009 07:53 PM
HELP!! My thermostat isn't turning my furnace off!! Mac Danny HVAC 14 12-29-2008 11:12 PM
Furnace does't start when Fan is 'auto' stepicz HVAC 2 10-18-2005 06:10 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.