Gas Furnace Won't Re-start - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-19-2010, 03:03 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Gas Furnace Won't Re-start


I have a Tempstar model PGAA24C1K gas furnace that won't re-start on it's own. First time used this WInter it came on with the thermostat, ran through one cycle and now will not come on unless I go outside and push the re-set button inside the cabinate.

When I push the re-set button the blower comes on, the intermittant spark igniter kicks in and lights the pilot light, then the heater fires. Everything seems to be working normal. But when the heat goes off it will not come back on again unless I go outside and push the re-set button again. The heater runs a good while before turning off. It does not necessarily heat the house to the temp set on the thermostat though. But the main problem is that it WILL NOT re-start by itself.

Any ideas? Thanks!

Curtis

Advertisement

curtissmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 03:57 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,425
Rewards Points: 4,496
Default

Gas Furnace Won't Re-start


Quote:
Originally Posted by curtissmith View Post
But the main problem is that it WILL NOT re-start by itself.

Any ideas? Thanks!

Curtis
That isn't the main problem. Thats just a symptom of the real problem.

Post a pic of this "reset" button. It could be a roll out limit. Which could be an indication of a rusted out heat exchanger.

Advertisement

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 04:23 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Gas Furnace Won't Re-start


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
That isn't the main problem. Thats just a symptom of the real problem.

Post a pic of this "reset" button. It could be a roll out limit. Which could be an indication of a rusted out heat exchanger.
I guess you're right. It is a symptom.

Here's a pic of the re-set button. It's located right above the burners.

Thanks.
Attached Thumbnails
Gas Furnace Won't Re-start-mvc-014s.jpg   Gas Furnace Won't Re-start-mvc-011s.jpg  
curtissmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 04:46 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,425
Rewards Points: 4,496
Default

Gas Furnace Won't Re-start


Thats a flame roll out switch.
Its doing its job, and preventing a fire.

You need to either have that heat exchanger inspected. or you must open up the unit and inspect it your self.

Its probably rusted through. Probably time for a new unit.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 05:15 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Gas Furnace Won't Re-start


Sorry for my lack of knowledge but is the heat exchanger the "burner" where the gas flames go? I've looked up in the three tubes where the fire is and there is glowing red material up in there that looks all crumbled. Is that the heat exchanger? Can it be replaced? How expensive is it?

Thanks.
curtissmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 05:42 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,425
Rewards Points: 4,496
Default

Gas Furnace Won't Re-start


The heat exchanger is the part/area where the flames go in. And the passage ways that the burnt gas travels until it gets to the inducer fan. Its not just one or 2 small things.

A heat exchanger can be replaced. if its still made. however. You only get a 1 year warranty on it(presuming that your current one is out of warranty).

Best to replace the whole unit.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 08:43 PM   #7
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,062
Rewards Points: 762
Default

Gas Furnace Won't Re-start


Glowing red material = large rust scales. The heat exchanger is partially plugged with rust and the fumes are not getting out fast enough thus causing the rollout switch to trip. Probably cracked and rusted thru also. Time for a new unit.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 12:50 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Gas Furnace Won't Re-start


Wow. The heat exchanger is so expensive that it would make more sense to replace the whole unit??? It's a 2.5 ton A/C unit as well as a gas furnace. You guys in the "business"??? Got any idea of the difference of the cost between the two? I can install the heat exchanger. I'm pretty handy with tools. But I'd have to pay a Pro to install a new unit. Wiring is not my strong suit.......

Thanks for your help!

Curtis
Attached Thumbnails
Gas Furnace Won't Re-start-mvc-015s.jpg   Gas Furnace Won't Re-start-mvc-018s.jpg  
curtissmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 12:54 PM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,425
Rewards Points: 4,496
Default

Gas Furnace Won't Re-start


Why would you want to put in a new heat exchanger. And then in a year or 2. If the compressor for the A/C dies. Be forced to pay for a new compressor install.

Makes no sense. And cost you a lot more in a short period of time.

Not sure that heat exchanger is made anymore. That unit is from a time when Tempstar wasn't a part of the Carrier/UTC family.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 01:03 PM   #10
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,062
Rewards Points: 762
Default

Gas Furnace Won't Re-start


The next expensive problem/replacement you will have soon is that black exhaust fan/ventor. Us Pros know the history of these units and when parts will fail and the cost to replace them. MUCH better off with a new unit.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 01:43 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Gas Furnace Won't Re-start


Not trying to question your professional opinion guys. Just gathering info so I can make an informed decision.

I appreciate the help. Looks like I'm going to have to keep pushing the roll out switch when it gets too cold in the house. For a while at least. I've been unemployed for a long time. Not even drawing unemployment. I simply don't have the money for a new unit right now.

Thanks again for your help. Pray for a mild Winter in N. Georgia!

Curtis
curtissmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 02:06 PM   #12
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,425
Rewards Points: 4,496
Default

Gas Furnace Won't Re-start


Contact your local CAP.
Community Action program. They may pay for it.

I've done a lot of work for our local one.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 02:10 PM   #13
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,062
Rewards Points: 762
Default

Gas Furnace Won't Re-start


They have something similar here thru the local utility co and gov't. Will install and LONG term finance a basic furnace dirt cheap if the homeowners income is less than a certain amount ($12,000 a yr or so) as they don't want people losing their houses/going bankrupt or on welfare etc. Probably subsidized by the 3 levels of gov't here.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 11-20-2010 at 02:12 PM.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 02:14 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Gas Furnace Won't Re-start


Don't keep pushing that roll out switch! It's there to prevent fire and/or carbon monoxide poisoning from the leaking heat exchanger and you're taking a HUGE risk resetting it. Turn the gas off like any of us would then buy or borrow some electric space heaters untill you can afford to replace it.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 04:29 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Gas Furnace Won't Re-start


Thanks guys. Looks like I'll have to bite the bullet and get another unit somehow. What brand do you recommend for a gas/electric combo unit? Any particular ones to stay away from?

Thanks again!

Curtis

Advertisement

curtissmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Furnace won't fire, exhaust fan hot and won't start tex800 HVAC 14 10-08-2010 07:48 PM
Oil Furnace Won't start ScottEW HVAC 0 10-05-2010 09:26 AM
HEIL gas furnace will not start. Mikeee HVAC 8 01-14-2009 10:25 PM
Bryant +80 Gas Furnace won't light tr0910 HVAC 4 01-14-2009 08:11 AM
Heil furnace won't start - just a click and a hum MrGookat HVAC 4 01-06-2009 08:53 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts