Gas Furnace Won't Fire - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-02-2007, 04:16 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Gas furnace won't fire


Have American Standard gas furnace about 6 years old. The glow ignitor glows and starts the first two tubes on fire but it won't spread upward to the remaining 3 tubes. Since the flame sensor is on the last the tube and the flame doesn't reach it, the gas then shuts off and the furnace goes into shut down. Both the ignitor and gas valve and circuit PCB have been replaced. At first if you banged on the gas tube going to the gas jets it would sometimes spread the flame up to ignite all the tubes. Now the only way to get the furnace on is to manually ignite the tubes oncew the gas valve turns on. ANy ideas would be appreciated. Thanks

Advertisement

Peter Weber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2007, 05:47 PM   #2
Thoroughbred Mopar Man
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South/East Kansas
Posts: 638
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Gas furnace won't fire


Hi Peter Weber

Shut the power off to your furnace. Remove the burners completely from the furnace. Use a wire brush and clean them extremly well on the end the flames come out of. You may need to use a knife of some sort or a small tipped flat screw driver to clean the slotted portion. Use compressed air and blow all of the loose debris out of them after you wire brush them. Reinstall the burners and power the furnace back up. Let me know if this does not do the trick, you could have gas pressure problems. Give the burners a try first.

Good luck
Rusty

Advertisement

__________________
Character is doing the right thing even when no one is looking. Intelligence is understanding and practicing the meaning of character.
#CARRIERMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2007, 03:19 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Gas furnace won't fire


Thanks for the help. Turns out to be a pressure problem. Have only 20% of the pressure at the out building as I do in the house. The house is about 100 feet from this furnace so must have a blockage or leak in the line. Trying to figure out next steps. Probably pressure test the line.
Peter Weber is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heil Furnace Burner Problem timothyr HVAC 79 02-12-2014 08:01 PM
Replacing My Furnace, few simple questions compression HVAC 10 02-03-2007 06:00 PM
Burner won't fire on Payne 490AAV furnace lwhpops HVAC 2 10-20-2006 04:03 PM
Luxaire furnace fails to fire cheesegrump HVAC 1 01-10-2006 08:36 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts