Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-05-2010, 09:35 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 78
Share |
Default

Gas Furnace will not stay lit...


Hi all. I'm not sure exactly what model of furnace I own (wasn't smart enough to check it first), but maybe you can still help me.

When the thermostat is turned to "heat" and the furnace is supposed to turn on, things start out ok. The little ceramic chip glows and the burners ignite. This lasts for about 5 seconds. Then, when the chip starts to go out, the burners all instantly snuff out and the process repeats it self. The ceramic piece is supposed to stop glowing, right? It basically seems as though the gas is being cut off.

The red light in the bottom of the unit does not blink at all (remains constantly red) and I've changed thermostats and that has done nothing either. There is a loose brown wire that is just lying on the piece of sheet metal right above the burners. It has some type of clip on it. Otherwise, everything seems normal.

Thoughts?

Thanks!


****** update: Check out a video of my furnace at and let me know what you think! Thanks!


Last edited by sobro; 10-06-2010 at 08:22 AM.
sobro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 01:03 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 278
Default

Gas Furnace will not stay lit...


Sounds like the flame is not being 'sensed'. The loose wire may have been attached to the flame sensor. See the images on the following site:

http://www.google.com/images?hl=en&s...=&oq=&gs_rfai=

The tip should be in the flame. If the sensor is in place and properly wired, try removing it and cleaning it with scotchbrite (not sand paper) and reinstalling.

V

veesubotee is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to veesubotee For This Useful Post:
sobro (10-12-2010)
Old 10-12-2010, 08:55 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 78
Default

Gas Furnace will not stay lit...


Ordered a flame sensor (~$22 shipped) from Shorty's in Indianapolis and it worked! Thanks again!

sobro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 09:22 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 278
Default

Gas Furnace will not stay lit...


Glad it worked out for you.

An annual 'cleaning' as I indicated is a good idea.

V
veesubotee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
furnace, gas, ignition, won't stay lit


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ducane Gas Furnace fails to stay on franko HVAC 25 12-08-2011 04:14 PM
Water Inside/Around American Standard Furnace michrob HVAC 8 12-08-2011 03:51 PM
bryant gas furnace burner wont stay on. pipebender HVAC 29 11-08-2009 07:41 PM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 01:55 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 01:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.