Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-07-2009, 11:30 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Gas Furnace Question


I'm looking at getting a high efficiency furnace to replace my ancient unit. I'm looking to go high efficiency, mainly because I plan on re-roofing my house and I want to do away with the chimney. Anyway, I found a good deal on a used one, it's a Carrier Model GNJ075N12D2 91% AFUE, but it's been converted to propane. How hard is it to change it back to natural gas? Also, the guy says the sticker says that it has an Input of120,000 BTU and an Output of 112,000BTU, but I've tried to search that model number and the only thing I've found listed it as a 75,000 BTU furnace. My house is a 90 year old 1300 square foot 1.5 story house with a basement. I just re-insulated and resided the whole house, so that shouldn't be an issue. I'm just wondeing if that furnace is properly sized, or is it overkill.
Thanks,
Corey

CoreyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2009, 12:32 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,412
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Gas Furnace Question


075 = 75,000 BTU's. What is the serial# and how old is it. Used furnaces are scary as it could have a bad heat exchanger and you buy some expensive scrap metal. Needs new manifold orifices and a conversion kit for the gas valve and a tech to install them and set it up properly and safely.

yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2009, 01:31 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Gas Furnace Question


It came out of a house that was bought by the city and being torn down to expand the hospital, and the seller is offering a guarantee, so I'm not too worried about it being no good. I think the serial number is 6001E15017, but I didn't get a very good look at it. As far as I know it's only a couple of years old. It pretty much looks brand new. So what should one expect to pay to have it converted back to natural gas?
CoreyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2009, 03:06 PM   #4
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,412
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Gas Furnace Question


Looks like a 2001 model. Cost depends on whether the gas valve can be converted back to nat.gas or needs replacing, plus the price of the orifices etc. You may want to phone some local Carrier dealers for a price. I would guess 2-3 hrs labor at $85/hr or more. Gas valve and orifices $400-600.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2009, 03:12 PM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,058
Rewards Points: 4
Default

Gas Furnace Question


Hope its not one of the cariers under recall.

Probably over sized for your 1300 sq ft, even though it is only 75,000 BTUs.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2009, 03:18 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Gas Furnace Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Hope its not one of the cariers under recall.
How would I find that out? What were they recalled for?
CoreyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2009, 03:47 PM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,058
Rewards Points: 4
Default

Gas Furnace Question


Secondary heat exchanger problems.

Call the local Carrier distributor. They'll need model and serial number.

But, doubtful you'll be able to take advantage of the recall on it.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2009, 03:53 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Gas Furnace Question


Whoops, not sure how I did that.

Last edited by CoreyK; 04-07-2009 at 03:55 PM. Reason: double post
CoreyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2009, 05:11 PM   #9
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Gas Furnace Question


I would be scared of a used gas appliance


Last edited by kenmac; 04-07-2009 at 05:13 PM.
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 01:55 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 01:45 AM
Furnace Maintenance Question lmeagher HVAC 1 10-15-2008 03:53 PM
Question Re: New Furnace and Duct Sizing DSimo HVAC 3 06-17-2008 07:24 AM
One furnace question and one thermostat question lh0628 HVAC 4 10-11-2007 10:17 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.